Magic Millions 2YO Classic

The 2019 Magic Millions 2YO Classic is the feature event of the Gold Coast Magic Millions Carnival held just out of Surfers Paradise in the South East corner of Queensland. The carnival is hosted in the middle part of January and is the biggest event on the calendar for the Gold Coast Turf Club.

The Magic Millions Classic is worth a huge $2 million in prize money making it one of the most valuable events on the entire Australian racing program.

The event is for two year old horses over a trip of 1200m with 16 spots available as well as five emergency positions.

What makes the Magic Millions Carnival unique however is that entry is only open to a restricted group of horses.

To compete in the Magic Millions Classic or indeed any event during the carnival a horse must have been purchased through the Magic Millions sales ring.

The carnival is an initiative to make their horses more lucrative by providing a series of high value races with prize money guaranteed to go to owners that buy through the Magic Millions program.

While the event may be restricted that’s not to say the horses aren’t top quality with Karuta Queen the most recent horse to go on to big race success during the country’s biggest carnivals.

One thing that can be guaranteed is that the Magic Millions 2YO Classic will always have full representation with the race seemingly getting more popular by the year with both owners and trainers.

During the 2012 lead up the Magic Millions was dubbed ‘the Melbourne Cup with shorts’ as organisers try to tie in the laid back beachside atmosphere of the Gold Coast with the lucrative multimillion dollar racing.

The Magic Millions Classic was first run in 1987 with Snippets claiming the inaugural event.

In the early days two races were run every year with one set aside specifically for fillies.

This changed after 1991 though when Bold Promise took out both events.

In 1992 there were still two events but one over a 1200m trip and the other over 1400m.

Amazingly once again there was a dual winner with Clan O’Sullivan claiming both prizes.

In 1993 then the Magic Millions took on the one race format we know today where a series of top champions have been produced.

General Nediym won it in 1997 and Testa Rossa got up in 1999. Assertive Lad and Excellerator added their name over the next two years with names like Regimental Gal, Dance Hero and Phelan Ready to come.

2019 Magic Millions 2YO Classic Field

Without exception, each horse in the 2019 Magic Millions 2YO Classic field deserves to be there. All of the runners in the 2016 2YO Classic field are top quality horses, with outstanding pedigree and decent trainers behind them.

The 2019 2YO Classic field will be provided below.

No. Form Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 11 JONKER David Atkins Hugh Bowman 3 57kg
2 11 EF TROOP Tony Gollan Matthew McGillivray 18 57kg
3 0x11 QUACKERJACK Mark Newnham Koby Jennings 19 57kg
4 1×4 LEGISLATION Peter & Paul Snowden Damian Browne 7 57kg
5 12 FULLAZABOOT Stuart Kendrick Tye Angland 21 57kg
6 1×27 CROCKETT Tony McEvoy Jamie Kah 10 57kg
7 2×3 BONDI Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 20 57kg
8 26 SKYRAY Clarry Conners Jason Collett 8 57kg
9 6×1 MERYL Lee Curtis Christian Reith 5 55kg
10 212 SECRET LADY Gary Portelli Ben Melham 11 55kg
11 3×11 SUNLIGHT Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 15 55kg
12 1x NOMOTHAJ David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Stephen Baster 2 55kg
13 1 OUTBACK BARBIE Tony Gollan Jim Byrne 6 55kg
14 22 ANTHEMOESSA Matt Cumani Jordan Childs 4 55kg
15 8×33 WITHERSPOON Brad Widdup Corey Brown 12 55kg
16 1 WHISKEY SHOOTER Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tim Clark 9 55kg
17e 323 PAQUIRRI Gary Moore TBA 17 57kg
18e 42 TERMINOLOGY Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott TBA 14 55kg
19e 91 SPIRIT’S PRIDE Michael Nolan TBA 1 57kg
20e 0154 SUGAR SIZZLE Angela Plumb Ryan Plumb 16 55kg
21e 3x CATASTROPHIC Chris Munce TBA 13 57kg

Magic Millions 2YO Classic Winners & Results

Winners and placegetters in the Magic Millions 2YO Classic since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2019 1 Exhilarates 2 Dubious 3 Hightail  1:08.9
2018 1 Sunlight 2 Fullazaboot 3 Outback Barbie  1:09.1
2017 1 Houtzen 2 Chauffeur 3 Madeenaty  1:09.4
2016 1 Capitalist 2 Nikitas 3 Candika  1:09.2
2015 1 Le Chef 2 Pepperano 3 Single Gaze  1:10.8
2014 1 Unencumbered 2 Oakleigh Girl 3 Ruby Soho  1:09.6
2013 1 Real Surreal 2 Sweet Idea 3 Missy Longstocking  1:09.98
2012 1 Driefontein 2 No Looking Back 3 Alezan Thunder  1:09.5
2011 1 Karuta Queen 2 Combat Kitty 3 Schiffer  1:11.0
2010 1 Military Rose 2 Ambers Waltz 3 Demanding Miss  1:10.2
2009 1 Phelan Ready 2 Paprika 3 Motown Lady  1:10.0
2008 1 Augusta Proud 2 She’s Meaner 3 High Rollin Woman  1:09.4
2007 1 Mimi Lebrock 2 Husson Lightning 3 Royal Asscher  1:09.9
2006 1 Mirror Mirror 2 Churchill Downs 3 Reigart  1:09.8
2005 1 Bradburys Luck 2 Emit Time 3 Snitzel  1:09.4
2004 1 Dance Hero 2 Not A Single Doubt 3 Marie Madeleine  1:08.7
2003 1 Regimental Gal 2 Danbird 3 How Funny  1:09.8
2002 1 Lovely Jubly 2 Chuckle 3 Cool Trent  1:09.5
2001 1 Excellerator 2 Miss Bussell 3 Magic Albert  1:09.7
2000 1 Assertive Lad 2 Belle Du Jour 3 Rapid Man  1:09.3