Caulfield Guineas Prelude

The 2017 Caulfield Guineas Prelude is a Group 3 race run at Caulfield Racecourse each year during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. It is an event for colts and geldings aged three years old and is run across a trip of 1400m.

The race has a value of $175,000 and is held on the same card as the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

As the name suggests it provides a direct lead in to the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas in two weeks time.

It’s sister event is the Thousand Guineas Prelude for fillies run on Underwood Stakes Day.

The Caulfield Guineas is the main aim for all of these horses and it is held at the same track except over an extra 200m.

It has been a brilliant form guide in recent years with both Helmet in 2011 and Anacheeva in 2010 both going on to win the double.

Look for horses coming into this race not just with Melbourne carnival form but also those coming from Sydney through something like the Group 1 Golden Rose.

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude has produced some wonderful winners over the years and these horses more often than not go on for further carnival success.

In the past, the Caulfield Guineas Prelude has been known variously as the MacDonald Stakes and the Show Day Stakes. The Caulfield Guineas Prelude was inaugurated in 1985, with Brequillo seizing victory in the first edition.

Umrum won it in 1997 with Elvstroem getting up in 2003.

Apache Cat came through in 2005 and Wonderful World won the very next year.

2017 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Field

The 2017 Caulfield Guineas Prelude field will be finalised and released on Thursday, September 24th. There are usually quite a few hot shots included in the 2015 Caulfield Guineas Prelude field. The 2016 Caulfield Guineas Prelude field will be published below.

2017 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Nominations

The 2017 Caulfield Guineas Prelude nominations will be released on Tuesday, September 20th. The 2017 Caulfield Guineas Prelude nominations usually include a number of talented horses. The 2017 Caulfield Guineas Prelude nominations will be provided below.

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Caulfield Guineas Prelude since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 Perast 2 Summer Passage 3 Kementari  1:23.4
2016 1 Sacred Elixir 2 Revolving Door 3 Wazzenme  1:24.7
2015 1 Bon Aurum 2 Tulsa 3 Dal Cielo  1:22.6
2014 1 Rich Enuff 2 Looks Like The Cat 3 Awesome Rock  1:23.5
2013 1 Eclair Big Bang 2 El Roca 3 Long John  1:23.3
2012 1 Epaulette 2 Let Go Lenni 3 Awesome Bro  1:24.2
2011 1 Helmet 2 Secret Hills 3 Specter  1:21.4
2010 1 Anacheeva 2 Toorak Toff 3 Skilled  1:23.1
2009 1 Demerit 2 Trusting 3 Manhattan Rain  1:24.7
2008 1 Fernandina 2 Time Thief 3 Von Costa De Hero  1:25.4
2007 1 Purrealist 2 Marching 3 Shrewd Rhythm  1:24.2
2006 1 Wonderful World 2 Blue Lago 3 Sharkbite  1:24.6
2005 1 Apache Cat 2 Gods Own 3 Danerich  1:27.0
2004 1 Tirade 2 Fastnet Rock 3 Classiconi  1:24.7
2003 1 Elvstroem 2 In Top Swing 3 Dance Up  1:22.3
2002 1 Great Glen 2 Titanic Jack 3 Helenus  1:23.2
2001 1 Pure Theatre 2 King Of Prussia 3 North Boy  1:24.2
2000 1 Fubu 2 Show A Heart 3 Debrief  1:22.4