The Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival officially kicks off this weekend at Doomben Racecourse with the Group 1 Ladbrokes Doomben 10,000 (1200m).

I Wish I Win | Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos |

I Wish I Win is firm favourite in 2024 Ladbrokes Doomben 10,000 betting this weekend in Brisbane. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

While the field size is small at nine runners, it’s packed with class.

Leading the charge is the Peter Moody and Katherine Coleman-trained I Wish I Win.

The five-year-old gelding is the clear favourite in Doomben 10,000 betting after claiming the 2023 TJ Smith Stakes and boasting consistent performances throughout last spring.

He’ll be ridden by champion jockey James McDonald from the coveted barrier one position.

The biggest threats to I Wish I Win come in the form of Joe Pride‘s Private Eye and Chris Waller‘s Espiona.

Private Eye, a dual The Everest place-getter, brings a strong record and will be ridden by Blake Shinn.

Espiona, meanwhile, is aiming to become the first mare to win the race since English in 2018 and will need to overcome the widest barrier (nine).

Trainer Pride also saddles up the 2022 winner, Mazu.

After a confidence-boosting victory in the Group 3 Hall Mark Stakes last time out, Mazu will be looking to add a second Doomben 10,000 title to his record.

Several other runners have a shot at an upset, including the classy mares Bella Nipotina and Chain Of Lightning (the reigning TJ Smith Stakes winner).

The Ladbrokes Doomben 10,000 field also includes talented filly Stefi Magnetica out to be the third three-year-old in as many years to beat home the older sprinters in the event.

With a mix of proven champions, up-and-coming stars, and a small field creating an unpredictable atmosphere, the 2024 Doomben 10,000 promises to be a thrilling race.

2024 Ladbrokes Doomben 10,000 Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Probable Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 1x231x32x3 I WISH I WIN (NZ) Peter G Moody & Katherine Coleman James McDonald 1 58.5kg 118
2 5x132x2603 PRIVATE EYE Joseph Pride Blake Shinn 6 58.5kg 114
3 3x9054x501 MAZU Joseph Pride Tyler Schiller 8 58.5kg 111
4 x111120x25 BODY BOB Pat Murphy Danny Beasley 7 58.5kg 80
5 3315×45424 BELLA NIPOTINA Ciaron Maher Craig Williams 3 56.5kg 114
6 4x370x0116 CHAIN OF LIGHTNING Peter G Moody & Katherine Coleman Ms Jamie Kah 5 56.5kg 114
7 21714×3367 ESPIONA Chris Waller Nash Rawiller 9 56.5kg 113
8 224x0x3312 WEE NESSY Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Adam Hyeronimus 2 56.5kg 103
9 331x12342x STEFI MAGNETICA Bjorn Baker Tim Clark 4 55kg 98

Table Credit: Racing Australia.

This page and the written content within it were partially generated using AI or automated technology and edited and verified by our editorial team.


For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit

About The Author

Lucy Henderson

Lucy is an experienced horse racing journalist that has been a crucial member of the team for the better part of a decade. She has taken great delight in covering champion mares Black Caviar and Winx throughout their careers and always has a soft spot for a winning filly.