Waller 3 dominate 2016 Sydney Cup field

The Chris Waller trained trio of Libran, Who Shot Thebarman and Grand Marshall dominate the field for the Group 1 $2m Schweppes Sydney Cup (3200m) on day two of ‘The Championships’ at Randwick on Saturday.

Libran, above, is one of three runners trainer Chris Waller will saddle up in the 2016 Sydney Cup. Photo by Steve Hart.

Libran, above, is one of three runners trainer Chris Waller will saddle up in the 2016 Sydney Cup. Photo by Steve Hart.

Who Shot Thebarman will carry the topweight of 56kg in the final field of eleven and will be ridden by Blake Shinn who was aboard the seven year old last start when second to stablemate Preferment in the Group 1 $1.5m The BMW (2400m) at Rosehill on March 26.

Libran is racing in outstanding form and with Sydney Cup jockey Brenton Avdulla in the saddle has won his last three starts, the Listed $125,000 Girvan Waugh Randwick City Stakes (2000m) at Randwick on March 5, the Group 3 $150,000 Irresistible Pools & Spas N E Manion Cup (2400m) at Rosehill a fortnight later and the Group 2 $300,000 Schweppes Chairman’s Handicap (2600m) at Randwick last Saturday.

The English import has been carrying big weights at his last two outings and will drop from 58kg in his last start Chairman’s Handicap win to 52kg in the Sydney Cup.

James McDonald will ride last year’s Sydney Cup winner Grand Marshall who is peaking at the right time with a last start third in The BMW.

Gai Waterhouse will saddle up two Sydney Cup runners, Cafe Society and Dee I Cee.

Cafe Society set the pace last start and battled on well for third and will have the services of Chad Schofield this week.

Dee I Cee was well supported in the betting ring when he stepped up from restricted class to run sixth to Chairman’s Handicap and Thomas Huet takes over from Tim Clark in the Sydney Cup.

Hugh Bowman replaces the injured Michael Walker on the Lindsay Park trained Almoonqith who is coming off a last start sixth to Preferment in The BMW.

Sydney Cup final field: 1 Who Shot Thebarman, 2 Almoonqith, 3 Grand Marshall, 4 Libran, 5 Auvray, 6 Destiny’s Kiss, 7 Gallante, 8 Cafe Society, 9 Like A Carousel, 10 Dee I Cee, 11 Bayanova.

The barrier draw for the Sydney Cup will be conducted at 5pm today.

About The Author

Mark Mazzaglia

Mark is a passionate journalist with a life-time involvement in the racing industry. He spent many years as an analyst and form expert at the Courier Mail and also has hands-on experience working with some of Queensland’s top trainers.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *