Wyong Gold Cup

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2016 Wyong Gold Cup is a 2100m listed staying event held at Wyong Racecourse halfway between Sydney and Newcastle.

Usually held during late August or early September, the Wyong Cup is a fairly important lead-up race which a lot of horses target as part of their spring preparation.

Run under quality handicap conditions and worth a lucrative $125,000 total prize money, the Wyong Cup is quite prestigious for a listed event held at a country meet.

The horses which target the Wyong Cup field are usually from Sydney stables, although a few country horses make it into the field each year. Those horses which do well in the Wyong Cup will continue on to bigger and better events during the Spring Racing Carnival. The Wyong Gold Cup is the feature race of the Wyong Racing Festival. There is one other black-type event on the race program, the listed Mona Lisa Stakes.

Inaugurated in 1978, the Wyong Cup has a fairly rich history for a relatively young race. Taksan took out the first edition, and since then a steadily improving list of runners have seized top honours. For its initial run, the Wyong Gold Cup was raced over 1600m. Since its inception, the Wyong Cup has run every year with the exception of 2007 due to equine influenza.

There are usually quote a few notable figures at Wyong Cup Day, including regular appearances by Gai Waterhouse, Chris Waller and other major trainers from the region. Notable Wyong Gold Cup winners include Danyon (2001), Carael Boy (2005) and The Verminator (2011).

2016 Wyong Gold Cup Field

The 2016 Wyong Gold Cup field, due to be released Wednesday September 2nd, usually contains a number of standout performers. Building on the reputation established in years past, the 2016 Wyong Gold Cup field will likely include some very highly rated horses. The 2016 Wyong Gold Cup field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 12×0463823 JUNOOB (GB) Chris Waller Blake Shinn 11 61kg 105
2 x7x23240x6 ORBEC (FR) John P Thompson Kerrin McEvoy 3 57kg 97
3 x816113x88 SACRED MASTER (NZ) Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 9 56.5kg 96
4 58×6335327 LOOPHOLE (NZ) Chris Waller 7 54.5kg 92
5 x3352342x9 ALEGRIA John O’Shea Tommy Berry 10 54kg 92
6 7457120104 SONG AND LAUGHTER Jim Litt Jason Collett 5 54kg 85
7 0x5339x678 SLOW PACE (USA) Kris Lees 4 54kg 79
8 16×5022541 OLYMPIC ACADEMY Kris Lees Brenton Avdulla 2 54kg 78
9 5685311442 GET ON THE GRANGE Allan Kehoe Jay Ford 1 54kg 75
10 x7831301x9 HALFWAY TO HEAVEN Bob Haire Ms Kathy O’Hara 8 54kg 67
11 7513995506 QUARTERMASTER Paul Perry Matthew McGillivray (a) 6 54kg 63

2016 Wyong Gold Cup Nominations

The nominations will soon be released for the 2015 Wyong Gold Cup. A number of decent runners make their way into the mix every year. The 2015 Wyong Gold Cup nominations will be provided here.

Wyong Gold Cup Results

Wyong Cup results since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2014 1 Multilateral 2 Canny Ballad 3 Secessio 2:12.2
2013 1 Wazn 2 Peal Of Bells 3 Gazza Guru 2:10.3
2012 1 Julienas 2 Gazza Guru 3 Storm Burst 2:10.2
2011 1 The Verminator 2 Essence Of Success 3 Gazza Guru 2:10.2
2010 1 Hawk Island 2 Snow Alert 3 Music Review 1:11.8
2009 1 Mr Clangtastic 2 Lodge The Deeds 3 Enzedex Eagle 2:11.9
2008 1 Bianca 2 Keepin’ The Dream 3 Enzedex Eagle 2:13.7
2007 Race Not Held
2006 Race Not Held
2005 1 Carael Boy 2 Irongail 3 Dancing Daggers 2:12.8
2004 1 Bush Honey 2 Jackman 3 Itemise 2:11.9
2003 1 Daniel’s The Man 2 Rocksinga 3 Legerdemain 2:11.0
2002 1 Bondi Iceberg 2 Danyon 3 Feed The Meter 2:11.7
2001 1 Danyon 2 Agincourt Express 3 Space Age 2:13.1
2000 1 Pecan Player 2 Space Age 3 Gerastar 2:08.1