Winterbottom Stakes

  • Date: Saturday November 25, 2017
  • Racecourse: Ascot
  • Race Distance: 1,200m
  • Conditions: 3YO+ Weight For Age
  • Prize Money: $1 million

2016 Winterbottom Stakes News

Miller gives First Among Equals each way chance in The Goodwood

Miller gives First Among Equals each way chance in The Goodwood

Perth trainer Simon Miller is giving his sprinter First Among Equals a strong each way chance at good odds in the Group 1 $1m Darley Goodwood (1200m) at Morphettville on Saturday.

Jockey Luke Nolen, above, rides Perth galloper First Among Equals in The Goodwood at Morphettville. Photo by Adrienne Bicknell.

Miller obviously rates the Darren …

The 2017 Winterbottom Stakes is a Group 1 race held at Ascot Racecourse in Perth in November each year.

Bet on Winterbottom Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Held as part of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival, the Winterbottom Stakes is run over a distance of 1,200 metres and worth $750,000 in prize money. The Winterbottom Stakes is run on the same day as the Group 1 Railway Stakes. The Winterbottom Stakes takes place on the second day of the three-day Festival of Perth racing carnival and is run under weight-for-age conditions.

The first Winterbottom Stakes was run in 1952 when it was won by a horse named Raconteur. The race initially began as a 1,400 metre race, but was changed to today’s distance of 1,200 metres in 1994. The Winterbottom Stakes is run at Ascot Racecourse each year, however, was held at Belmont Park Racecourse for one year in 2003. The Winterbottom Stakes was promoted to Group 1 status in 2011.

Horses that run in the Winterbottom Stakes have often come via races such as the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes and the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes. Those horses that perform well in the Winterbottom Stakes may then go on to run in the Group 3 AJ Scahill Stakes in December. The Winterbottom Stakes is usually made up of local Western Australian runners as well as horses that have just come of successful Sydney and Melbourne Carnival campaigns.

Notable horses to have won the Winterbottom Stakes include La Trice (1970-71), Placid Ark (1987), Barrosa Boy (1992), Noble Sky (2000), Miss Andretti (2005), Takeover Target (2008) and Ortensia (2009).

2017 Winterbottom Stakes Field

The Winterbottom Stakes field usually features a fairly diverse range of western and eastern horses. It’s fairly common for a talented eastern horse to head over and try their luck in the Winterbottom Stakes field.

The 2017 Winterbottom Stakes field will be provided below.

2017 Winterbottom Stakes Nominations

Due to be released Monday, October 16th, the 2017 Winterbottom Stakes nominations will feature a host of talented runners. Horse from stables all around the country will enter the 2017 Winterbottom Stakes nominations, and there is little doubt that this will shape up to be a massive race.

The 2017 Winterbottom Stakes nominations will be provided below.

Past Winners & Results

Below you will find a list of past winners and results for the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Takedown 2 Sheidel 3 Rock Magic 1:10.2
2015 1 Buffering 2 Waterman’s Bay 3 Fast ‘N’ Rocking 1:08.1
2014 1 Magnifisio 2 Watermans Bay 3 Shining Knight 1:10.3
2013 1 Buffering 2 Moment Of Change 3 Watermans Bay 1:10.3
2012 1 Barakey 2 Power Princess 3 Spirit Of Boom 1:09.6
2011 1 Ortensia 2 Rarefied 3 Grand Nirvana 1:10.1
2010 1 Hadabeclorka 2 King Kool Kat 3 Whitefriars 1:08.7
2009 1 Ortensia 2 Idyllic Prince 3 Black In Time 1:08.5
2008 1 Takeover Target 2 Apache Cat 3 Marasco 1:09.1
2007 1 Glory Hunter 2 Charlie Beau 3 Dark Target 1:10.4
2006 1 Marasco 2 Grasspatch Girl 3 Electric General 1:10.0
2005 1 Miss Andretti 2 Avenida Madero 3 Rescuer 1:09.7
2004 1 Ellicorsam 2 Redwoldt 3 Modem 1:08.6
2003 1 Hardrada 2 Irish Pride 3 Golden Delicious 1:11.3
2002 1 Hardrada 2 Kaprats 3 Fair Alert 1:08.7
2001 1 Fair Alert 2 Old Fashion 3 Corporate Bruce 1:11.5
2000 1 Noble Sky 2 Star System 3 Victory Trump 1:10.6