Tattersall’s Tiara (Winter Stakes)

  • Date: Saturday June 21, 2014
  • Racecourse: Eagle Farm
  • Race Distance: 1,400m
  • Conditions: Fillies & Mares - Weight For Age
  • Prize Money: $500,000

2014 Tattersall’s Tiara (Winter Stakes) News

Kontiki Park At Career Crossroads

Kontiki Park At Career Crossroads

Mark Newnham, the stable foreman for Gai Waterhouse, has revealed that retirement may be considered for veteran gelding Kontiki Park if he fails to perform in the ATC Membership On Sale Now Handicap (1400m) at Rosehill Gardens on Saturday.

Kontiki Park has performed consistently at Group level throughout his career but failed to fire during his…

The 2014 Tattersall’s Tiara, formerly the Winter Stakes, is a Group 1 race that takes place annually in June at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane. The Tattersall’s Tiara is a weight-for-age race open to fillies and mares only. Run over a distance of 1,400 metres, the Tattersall’s Tiara is worth a total of $500,000 in prize money. The weight-for-age conditions of the Tattersall’s Tiara usually gives the advantage to the best performed filly or mare in the race. The Tattersall’s Tiara (Winter Stakes) is held on the same day as both the Group 3 Tattersalls Cup and the Group 3 WJ Healy Stakes on the last day of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Bet on: Tattersall’s Tiara (Winter Stakes)
$250 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The Tattersall’s Tiara is a fairly new addition to the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, with the inaugural running taking place in 1989. While previously registered as the Winter Stakes, the race name was changed to the Tattersall’s Tiara in 2011. The Winter Stakes was first won by La Posette. Only one horse has been able to win back to back Winter Stakes titles; and that was Bonanova in both 1999 and 2000. Mamzelle Pedrille (1995) holds the record for the fastest winning time of the Winter Stakes, passing the post in 1 minute and 19.3 seconds, while Dane Ripper (1997) won the race in the slowest time of 1 minute and 34.1 seconds.

Other notable winners of the Winter Stakes include Piper’s Belle (1990), Zetoile (1994), Tripping (1996), Mon Mekki (2003), Nova Star (2007), Russeting (2009) and Melito (2010).

Tattersall’s Tiara Winners & Results

Here you will find a list of past winners and results for the Tattersall’s Tiara / Winter Stakes since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2012 1 Pear Tart 2 Skyerush 3 Gai’s Choice 1:23.3
2011 1 Yosei 2 Beaded 3 Born To Rock 1:22.2
2010 1 Melito 2 Wealth Princess 3 Beaded 1:21.8
2009 1 Russeting 2 Prima Nova 3 Subtle Cove 1:22.6
2008 1 Absolut Glam 2 Fritzs Princess 3 Alverta 1:24.0
2007 1 Nova Star 2 Fashions Afield 3 J Adane 1:22.0
2006 1 La Sizeranne 2 Gee I Jane 3 Villa Bled 1:31.2
2005 1 Charmview 2 Tui Song 3 Yvonne 1:28.9
2004 1 Miss Potential 2 Paraca 3 Rodrigo Rose 1:28.1
2003 1 Mon Mekki 2 With My 3 Recurring 1:27.7
2002 1 Heptonstall 2 Princess Clang 3 Omens 1:28.6
2001 1 Porto Roca 2 Dynamic Love 3 Heather 1:28.7
2000 1 Bonanova 2 Crestfallen 3 Stella Maree 1:28.6