William Reid Stakes

  • Date: March 20, 2015
  • Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • Race Distance: 1,200m
  • Conditions: Weight For Age
  • Prize Money: $500,000

2014 William Reid Stakes News

Nordic Empire on trial for William Reid Stakes

Nordic Empire on trial for William Reid Stakes

Smart three year old Nordic Empire is on trial for a start in the Group 1 $400,000 Hacer Group William Reid Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley on March 27 when he steps out at Flemington on Saturday.

Nordic Empire in on trial for the William Reid Stakes when he steps out at Flemington in the …

The 2015 William Reid Stakes is a Group 1 sprint race that is held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Victoria in either February or March of each year. Run over a distance of 1,200 metres, the William Reid Stakes is worth $500,000 in prize money.

Bet on William Reid Stakes Racing:
$250 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The race was originally named after William Reid, who was a Victorian Banker and racehorse owner. Mr Reid owned a number of leading racehorses during the early 1900’s, including the talented Uncle Sam who won the Caulfield Cup on two occasions (1912 & 1914).

The William Reid Stakes was first run in 1925, when it was won by The Night Patrol. Initially run over a distance of six furlongs, the race was changed to 1,200 metres in 1973 due to the introduction of the metric system. The William Reid Stakes was labelled as a Principal race from inception until 1980 when it was awarded Group 2 status. The race was first given its current Group 1 status in 1987.

Throughout the William Reid Stakes’ long history, it has been referred to as many names. While originally being known as the William Reid Stakes, the race was renamed the Australia Made Stakes from 1994-1995 and the Australia Stakes from 1996-2009. In 2010 the William Reid Stakes reverted back to its original name.

Many horses have claimed back to back victories in the William Reid Stakes; however, history was created when the famous horse Manikato won the race five consecutive times from 1979-1983.  Other notable William Reid Stakes winners include Heroic (1927), Comic Court (1951), Magic Ruler (1969), Vo Rogue (1988), Apache Cat (2008-9), Turffontein (2010) and Black Caviar (2011).

William Reid Stakes Field

2015 William Reid Stakes Field

The 2015 William Reid Stakes field will be announced on Wednesday March 18. Once the field has been released, we will update this section with the full field & barrier draw.

2015 William Reid Stakes Nominations

As soon as they are available, the 2015 William Reid Stakes nominations will be uploaded here.

William Reid Winners & Results

Many top Australian sprint horses have won the Group 1 William Reid Stakes over the years. Most notably the William Reid Stakes marked the 11th consecutive win for champion mare Black Caviar in 2011.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 Spirit Of Boom 2 Fontelina 3 Unpretentious  1:11.17
2013 1 Black Caviar 2 Karuta Queen 3 Fawkner  1:11.08
2012 1 Foxwedge 2 Hay List 3 Buffering  1:10.2
2011 1 Black Caviar 2 Crystal Lily 3 Hinchinbrook  1:10.00
2010 1 Turffontein 2 Wanted 3 Sniper’s Bullet  1:11.67
2009 1 Apache Cat 2 Vormista 3 Time Thief  1:09.64
2008 1 Apache Cat 2 Stanzout 3 Monet Rules  1:09.64
2007 1 Miss Andretti 2 Any Suggestion 3 Rewaaya  1:10.23
2006 1 Virage De Fortune 2 Rewaaya 3 Undue  1:10.06
2005 1 Cape Of Good Hope 2 Super Elegant 3 Spark Of Life  1:10.30
2004 1 Regimental Gal 2 Our Egyptian Raine 3 Legally Bay  1:10.3
2003 1 Yell 2 Dash For Cash 3 Spinning Hill  1:10.5
2002 1 Toledo 2 Show A Heart 3 North Boy  1:11.8
2001 1 Bomber Bill 2 Scenic Warrior 3 Nina Haraka  1:11.4
2000 1 Miss Pennymoney 2 Redoutes Choice 3 St Chrisoph  1:10.7