Wakeful Stakes

  • Date: Saturday October 31st, 2015
  • Racecourse: Flemington
  • Race Distance: 2000m
  • Conditions: 3YO Fillies, SWP
  • Prize Money: $300,000

2016 Wakeful Stakes News

Ambience draws horror barrier in 2016 Queensland Oaks

Ambience draws horror barrier in 2016 Queensland Oaks

One time favourite Ambience has been handed a horror barrier for the Group 1 $500,000 Treasury Casino & Hotel Queensland Oaks (2400m) at Eagle Farm on Saturday.

Ambience has drawn horror gate in the Queensland Oaks at Eagle Farm. Photo by Steve Hart.

Ambience came up with gate twenty-one in the original draw of eighteen …

The 2015 Wakeful Stakes is a Group 2 race held annually at Flemington racecourse at the very end of October, right in the heart of the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The event is contested over a 2000m trek specifically for three year old fillies and pays out prize money worth $300,000.

Bet on Wakeful Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

Traditionally run on the first day of the Melbourne Cup Racing Carnival the Wakeful Stakes is on the Derby Day card, a program which features four Group 1’s including the Victoria Derby, Myer Classic, Coolmore Stud Stakes and the Mackinnon Stakes.

Other black-type races that the Wakeful Stakes shares a program with include the Group 2 Salinger Stakes, Group 3 Carbine Club Stakes, Group 3 Lexus Stakes and Group 3 Chatham Stakes.

The Derby Day line up pleases all tastes with sprint and middle distance events and the Wakeful Stakes plays a key role as gruelling 2000m trip.

Coming into this event horses will usually come from Group 2 level in the Edward Manifold Stakes or potentially from the Group 1 Thousand Guineas at Caulfield.

From here the obvious move is the Group 1 Crown Oaks providing the horse is in good shape to take on the extra distance.

The Wakeful Stakes is a handy guide to what may await in the Crown Oaks however it’s not a concrete certainty given the extra distance.

Hollow Bullet in 2004, Serenade Rose in 2005 and Faint Perfume in 2009 are all modern horses which have completed the double.

There’s been more than a few top quality winners of the Wakeful Stakes over the years and plenty have gone on to find further glory.

Research in 1988 and Kensington Palace in 1997 are some of the older horses which appear on the winners list.

More recently Tuesday Joy won in 2006 and Brazilian Pulse triumphed in 2010.

2015 Wakeful Stakes Field

The Wakeful Stakes field attracts horses from a variety of preparations, but usually at the upper end of black type racing. Expect to see quite a few group level winners lining up in the Wakeful Stakes field. Because it’s run over 2000m, the type of fillies who enter the Wakeful Stakes field are usually committed stayers, rather than milers stepping up.

The 2015 Wakeful Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 121×4731 MY POPPETTE Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 2 57kg 84
2 035×6231 DAWNIE PERFECT Clarry Conners Jim Cassidy 4 56kg 78
3 0x521x076 THE GREY FLASH Robbie Laing Chris Parnham 5 56kg 71
4 2×3113 AMBIENCE John O’Shea James McDonald 3 55.5kg 77
5 0135521 BELUGA BLUE Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Hugh Bowman 1 55.5kg 72
6 6x314x02 BENGAL CAT John Sadler Opie Bosson 7 55kg 70
7 22×080 LAZUMBA Steve Richards James Winks 9 55kg 65
8 118×7802 ASHLEE MARIE Richard Laming Steven King 14 55kg 64
9 5×641144 BANNATYNE Chris Waller Blake Shinn 11 55kg 66
10 34×27351 MUZYKA Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 13 55kg 64
11 434213 RITZY Anthony Cummings Tommy Berry 8 55kg 65
12 27×14644 C’EST BEAU LA VIE Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Craig Williams 6 55kg 61
13 36×72937 ZARABEEL (NZ) Leon & Troy Corstens Stephen Baster 12 55kg 60
14 319 DAWN OF HOPE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 15 55kg 63
15 896×5755 PRINCESS ARIA Marc Conners Damien Oliver 10 55kg 60

2015 Wakeful Stakes Nominations

The Wakeful Stakes nominations are released less than a week prior to the race. When you’re perusing the Wakeful Stakes nominations, you’ll likely notice a pattern of fillies that have regularly lined up against each other throughout the spring racing carnival. The Wakeful Stakes nominations provide a good guide to the fillies that are expected to perform strongly the following year.

The 2015 Wakeful Stakes nominations are published below.

Wakeful Stakes Results

Wakeful Stakes winners, place getters and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 Ambience 2 Beluga Blue 3 Muzyka 2:04.7
2014 1 Thunder Lady 2 Abduction 3 Fenway 2:03.4
2013 1 Kirramosa 2 May’s Dream 3 Solicit 2:05.2
2012 1 Zydeco 2 Maraatib 3 Transonic 2:02.8
2011 1 Atlantic Jewel 2 Rahveel 3 Dowager Queen 2:04.98
2010 1 Brazilian Pulse 2 Placement 3 Heartsareforlove 2:04.2
2009 1 Faint Perfume 2 Silent Surround 3 Melito 2:03.2
2008 1 Rocha 2 Miss Scarlatti 3 Estee 2:05.5
2007 1 Zarita 2 Riva San 3 Katherine Gold 2:05.8
2006 1 Tuesday Joy 2 J’adane 3 Anamato 2:02.7
2005 1 Serenade Rose 2 Astronomia 3 Zenarta 2:02.5
2004 1 Hollow Bullet 2 Storm Alert 3 Mango Daiquiri 2:02.1
2003 1 Timbourina 2 Special Harmony 3 Dane Beltar 2:05.5
2002 1 Hierogram 2 Its Who Deanie 3 Lashed 2:02.9
2001 1 Quays 2 Gold Lottery 3 Li Lo Lill 2:01.2
2000 1 Lolita Star 2 Lang Kwai Fong 3 Tanith 2:04.7