WA Champion Fillies Stakes

  • Date: Saturday November 14, 2015
  • Racecourse: Ascot
  • Race Distance: 1600m
  • Conditions: 3YO Fillies, Set Weight
  • Prize Money: $200,000

2016 WA Champion Fillies Stakes News

Perfect Reflection not to contest W.A. Guineas

Perfect Reflection not to contest W.A. Guineas

Undefeated Perth filly Perfect Reflection won’t back up this week in the Group 2 $400,000 Sky Racing-W.A. Guineas (1600m) at Ascot.

Owner Bob Peters is hoping Perfect Reflection can rise to the standard of Oaks-Derby winner Delicacy, above. Photo by Jenny Barnes.

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters was thrilled to see Perfect Reflection maintain her …

The 2015 WA Champion Fillies Stakes is a Group 3 contest run annually during November at Ascot Racecourse in Perth.

Bet on WA Champion Fillies Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The Champion Fillies Stakes is specifically for three year old fillies and is raced under set weight conditions.

It is run over a 1600m journey and boasts a very handy prize pool of $200,000.

The Champion Fillies Stakes was run in December up until 2007 when it shifted to February before moving to November in 2011.

The WA Champion Fillies Stakes is the second most valuable race for three year old fillies in Western Australia and only the $250,000 WA Oaks is worth more.

This is yet to attract any stars over form the east coast though and it is almost exclusively a race for local horses.

When the race was run in February it provided a good lead up to the WA Oaks and Dreamaway claimed the double in 2011.

It’s worth noting the race was actually run twice in 2011 though and the second instalment went to long shot Eight Till Late.

There is still a chance horses will claim the Champion Fillies Stakes / Oaks double in years to come but it will almost certainly have to be done in different campaigns.

Previous winners of the WA Champion Fillies Stakes include Superior Lady in 2003, Stormy Nova in 2004, Spirited One in 2008 and Le Plunge in 2010.

2015 WA Champion Fillies Stakes Field

The Champion Fillies Stakes field attracts fillies from a range of racing backgrounds. Some of them have had plenty of starts leading up to the summer racing carnival, while some might choose to enter the Champion Fillies Stakes field first up.

The 2015 Champion Fillies Stakes field will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 1111×31 BLACKWOOD Fred Kersley Ms Lucy Warwick 3 55.5kg
2 111 PERFECT REFLECTION Grant Williams William Pike 8 55.5kg
3 223×4214 SPIRIT BIRD (NZ) Nick Cox Shaun O’Donnell 7 55.5kg
4 1×123 ARCADIA DREAM Grant Williams Joseph Azzopardi 4 55.5kg
5 5330×35176 ESPERANCA Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 2 55.5kg
6 411 IMPASSIONED Grant Williams Peter Hall 5 55.5kg
7 973×1333 WAR BLOSSOM Daniel Morton Jason Brown 6 55.5kg
8 21 FIRST IMPRESSIONS (NZ) Grant Williams Glenn Smith 1 55.5kg

2015 WA Champion Fillies Stakes Nominations

The Champion Fillies Stakes nominations draw horses largely from Perth stables. Most of the gallopers that enter the Champion Fillies Stakes nominations do so as part of their preparation for more lucrative and higher class races held later on in the Perth summer racing carnival.

The 2015 Champion Fillies Stakes nominations will be published below.

WA Champion Fillies Stakes Results

Winners and placers in the WA Champion Fillies Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2015 1 Perfect Reflection 2 Arcadia Dream 3 Blackwood  1:36.5
2014 1 Delicacy 2 Dancing Express 3 Ideal Image  1:36.4
2013 1 Miss Rose De Lago 2 Via Laurentina 3 Balmont Girl  1:35.2
2012 1 Fuddle Dee Duddle 2 Bippo No Bungus 3 Antique Belle  1:36.1
2011 1 Eight Till Late 2 Red Hot Sax 3 Almachino  1:36.9
2011 1 Dreamaway 2 Moonlight Bay 3 Miss Vinnoire  1:36.0
2010 1 Le Plunge 2 Impressive Jeuney 3 For Your Eyes Only  1:35.3
2009 1 Danebeela 2 All Class 3 Flight Path  1.34:6
2008 1 Spirited One 2 Hifalutin 3 Xaar Boom  1:35.0
2006 1 Catechuchu 2 Clarecastle 3 Bella Pia  1:35.0
2005 1 Hi On Love 2 Danish Sea 3 Wave Rock  1:35.8
2004 1 Stormy Nova 2 Moet Magic 3 Holy Bounty  1:36.3
2003 1 Spirited Lady 2 Tissot 3 Belhari  1:37.9
2002 1 Superior Star 2 Miss Belhus 3 Trimagic  1:37.0
2001 1 Tribula 2 Monkey Business 3 Torolosa  1:38.0
2001 1 Miss Precisely 2 Fortune Streak 3 Honor Lap  1:38.8
2000 1 Ellendale 2 Uma Princess 3 Gwalia Girl  1:38.1