Toorak Handicap

  • Date: Saturday October 11, 2014
  • Racecourse: Caulfield
  • Race Distance: 1,600m
  • Conditions: Open Handicap
  • Prize Money: $400,000

2014 Toorak Handicap News

Akavoroun To Make Group Level Debut In Bobbie Lewis Quality

Akavoroun To Make Group Level Debut In Bobbie Lewis Quality

Progressive gelding Akavoroun has scored six wins from his seven race starts to date and has done enough to convince trainer Ciaron Maher that he is ready to make his debut at Group level in the 2014 Bobbie Lewis Quality at Flemington on September 13.

Akavoroun made his debut in May last year and worked his…

The 2014 Toorak Handicap is a Group 1 race that is held each year at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. Part of the annual Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the Toorak Handicap is an open handicap race that takes place in October. Run over a distance of 1,600 metres, the Toorak Handicap is worth $400,000 in prize money. The race is held on Guineas Day along with the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas and the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes. Guineas Day is the first of a three-day long carnival at Caulfield Racecourse.

Bet on: Toorak Handicap
$250 Bonus Bet from

The Toorak Handicap was first held in 1881 when it was won by a horse named Josephine. In 1891 the race was run over a distance of 9 furlongs, or 1,800 metres, for one year only. The Toorak Handicap kept its original name until 1981 when it was changed to The IXL. From 1985 until 1989 the race was known as The Elders Mile until its name reverted back to Toorak Handicap in 1990. The Toorak Handicap has experienced two dead heats during its running. The first took place in 1935 when both Epigram and Journal won the race, while the second happened just three years later in 1938 when El Golea and Ena passed the post together.

Horses that compete in the Toorak Handicap often come via the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes that takes place three weeks beforehand. Regal Roller (2004) and Barely A Moment (2005) have both taken out the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and Toorak Handicap double.  Horses that perform well in the Toorak Handicap may go on to compete in Group 1 Emirates Stakes or the Group 1 Myer Classic later in the spring carnival.

Notable winners of the Toorak Handicap include The Trump (1937), Royal Gem (1946), Galilee (1966), Tobin Breeze (1967), Gunsynd (1971), Leilani (1974), Show A Heart (2001) and More Joyous (2010).

Past Winners & Results

Below you will find a list of results for the Toorak Handicap since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2014 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2013 1 Solzhenitsyn 2 Trevieres 3 Blackie 1:36.4
2012 1 Solzhenitsyn 2 Spirit Song 3 Yosei 1:35.3
2011 1 King Mufhasa 2 King’s Rose 3 Luen Yat Forever 1:36.3
2010 1 More Joyous 2 We’re Gonna Rock 3 Poor Judge 1:36.4
2009 1 Allez Wonder 2 Gold Salute 3 Rock Kingdom 1:35.0
2008 1 Alamosa 2 Rockwood 3 Pillar of Hercules 1:36.9
2007 1 Divine Madonna 2 Niconero 3 Wonderful World 1.37.3
2006 1 Red Dazzler 2 Rewaaya 3 Niconero 1.37.5
2005 1 Barely A Moment 2 Super Kid 3 Calveen 1.37.9
2004 1 Regal Roller 2 Osca Warrior 3 Infinite Grace 1.37.4
2003 1 Roman Arch 2 Fields Of Omagh 3 Umrum 1.36.0
2002 1 Shot Of Thunder 2 Umrum 3 Pernod 1.36.1
2001 1 Show A Heart 2 La Zagaletta 3 Shot Of Thunder 1.35.8
2000 1 Umrum 2 Go Flash Go 3 Crawl 1.36.4