Theo Marks Stakes

  • Date: September 10, 2016
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: 3yo and up Handicap
  • Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Theo Marks Stakes News

Counterattack needs change of luck in Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Counterattack needs change of luck in Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Premiership winning trainer Chris Waller is hoping Counterattack has better luck than he got last start when he chases his first Group 1 win in the $500,000 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield on Saturday.

Counterattack, above, grey and black colours, gets his chance to win his first G1 in the Sir Rupert Clarke …

The Theo Marks Stakes 2016 is a Group 2 event held in September during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival at Rosehill Gardens. The race lasts for 1400m around the famed Rosehill surface and is worth $200,000 for the best performing horses.

Bet on Theo Marks Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The event is restricted to horses three and above and contested under handicap conditions up to 61 kilograms. It often fields a good portion on entries which ran in the Group 3 Concorde Stakes two weeks earlier at the same track.

Horses which run out the trip in the Theo Marks Stakes will often then move on to the Randwick Carnival in races like the Group 2 Shannon Stakes or even a Group 1 attempt in the Epsom Handicap. Both of those races increase the journey by 100m, stepping up the workload for the horses each time.

Racing To Win probably has the best relationship with the Theo Marks Stakes having won in both 2006 and in 2009. His 2006 season became even more impressive when claiming the Group 1 Epsom Handicap the same year.

There’s certainly no shortage of talented winners on the Theo Marks Stakes winners role.

Alquoz won in a blisteringly quick time in 1990 while Adam managed to beat Sunline to the post in 1999.

Shogun Lodge won in 2001 and Defier claiming victory in 2002.

Recent winners Racing To Win (2006 / 2009) and More Joyous (2010) have continued the trend of top level horses winning the race.

2016 Theo Marks Stakes Field

The Theo Marks Stakes field is usually comprised of a handy selection of horses. Both sprinters and middle-distance gallopers seek acceptance into the Theo Marks Stakes field, and it is often used by short-distance sprinters as a means of stepping up to longer runs.

Horses often seek entry in the Theo Marks Stakes field following successful runs in shorter events such as the 1100m Group 3 Concorde Stakes. After successful runs in the Theo Marks Stakes, horses might seek to challenge the 1500m Shannon Stakes or the 1600m Epsom Handicap.

As soon as all details are finalised, the 2016 Theo Marks Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x354094x23 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Tommy Berry 1 59kg 107
2 x0822018x4 MESSENE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Christian Reith 8 58.5kg 106
3 1x0x3711x9 VASHKA John O’Shea James McDonald 10 58.5kg 106
4 10x3600x11 TYCOON TARA Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 7 56.5kg 106
5 513x35217x COUNTERATTACK Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 2 55.5kg 100
6 2x4x235123 OXFORD POET Kim Waugh Jay Ford 4 54.5kg 98
7 14101110x MACKINTOSH (NZ) Chris Waller Joao Moreira 6 53kg 94
8 x61x14124x OLD NORTH John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 5 53kg 90
9 45x111x1 SOUTHERN LEGEND Les Bridge Tim Clark 3 53kg 88
10 940x130x42 SNOOPY Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Jason Collett 9 53kg 79

2016 Theo Marks Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Theo Marks Stakes nominations, due to be published on Monday September 7th, will likely contain a number of standout runners. The 2016 Theo Marks Stakes nominations will be provided below.

Theo Marks Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Theo Marks Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Mackintosh 2 Counterattack 3 Southern Legend 1:17.1
2015 1 Winx 2 Sons Of John 3 Ninth Legion 1:15.7
2014 1 Cluster 2 Bull Point 3 Ninth Legion 1:23.3
2013 1 Riva De Lago 2 Solzhenitsyn 3 Your Honour 1:21.7
2012 1 Ambidexter 2 Fat Al 3 Dystopia 1:22.3
2011 1 Master Of Design 2 Torio’s Quest 3 Fast Clip 1:16.8
2010 1 More Joyous 2 Rothesay 3 Drumbeats 1:22.1
2009 1 Racing To Win 2 Rock Kingdom 3 Triple Honour 1:22.1
2008 1 Hurried Choice 2 Forensics 3 Ice Chariot 1:17.1
2007 1 Race Not Run 2 3
2006 1 Racing To Win 2 New Edge 3 Regal Cheer 1:16.5
2005 1 Paratroopers 2 Perfect Promise 3 Outback Prince 1:16.8
2004 1 Falkirk 2 Grand Armee 3 Private Steer 1:17.7
2003 1 Fiery Venture 2 Grand Armee 3 Osca Warrior 1:16.3
2002 1 Defier 2 Phoenix Park 3 Carael Boy 1:15.7
2001 1 Shogun Lodge 2 Fouardee 3 Belle Du Jour 1:16.8
2000 1 Hire 2 Landsighting 3 Shogun Lodge 1:17.1