JJ Atkins

  • Date: Saturday June 6, 2014
  • Racecourse: Eagle Farm
  • Race Distance: 1,600m
  • Conditions: 2YO Set Weight
  • Prize Money: $500,000

2014 JJ Atkins News

Black Caviar Silences Doubters With Win 25 in TJ Smith

Black Caviar Silences Doubters With Win 25 in TJ Smith

She won again.

The doubters and critics came out of the woodwork during the week but champion mare Black Caviar has sent them scurrying back into hiding after extending her unbeaten streak to 25 in the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick today.

It was the strongest field the six-year-old has faced in…

Read More JJ Atkins News

The 2014 JJ Atkins, previously called The TJ Smith, is a Group 1 race for two-year-olds that is held each year in June at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane. Run over a distance of 1,600 metres, The JJ Atkins is run under set-weight conditions and is worth a total of $500,000 in prize money. The JJ Atkinstakes place on Eagle Farm’s biggest day of racing each year; Stradbroke Handicap Day, and takes place on the same day as both the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap and the Group 1 Queensland Derby.

Bet on: JJ Atkins
$250 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The first The TJ Smith took place in 1893 when it was known as the Claret Stakes and won by a horse named Common. The race was then changed to The TJ Smith to commemorate the legendary Sydney trainer Tommy Smith.

In 2013 the race name was changed to the JJ Atkins to commemorate legendary Queensland trainer Jim “JJ” Atkins.

The TJ Smith began as a Principal race and was not given Group status until 1980 when it became a Group 2. The TJ Smith was finally granted its current Group 1 status in 1985. The race was originally run over a distance of six furlongs (1200m), with race slowly increasing in distance over many years until it was changed to the present 1,600 metres to coincide with the introduction of the metric system in 1973. The TJ Smith was not held from 1942-1945 due to the Second World War.

Just A Printer (1994) holds the race record for The TJ Smith, winning the race in a time of 1 minute and 33 seconds. Throughout history many well-known horses have won The TJ Smith, including  Karunda (1957), Le Strom (1960), Femme Fatale (1972), Luskin Star (1977), Zeditave (1988), Mossman (1998), Show A Heart (2000) and Pressday (2010).

The TJ Smith Winners & Results

Below you will find a list of results for The TJ Smith since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2012 1 Sizzling 2 Kabayan 3 Academus 1:37.0
2011 1 Benfica 2 Hot Snitzel 3 Playtime 1:36.06
2010 1 Pressday 2 Ringa Ringa Rosie 3 American Crew 1:35.0
2009 1 Linky Dink 2 Spot On Target 3 Southport 1:39.9
2008 1 Rockdale 2 Baci Amore 3 Fravashi 1:40.3
2007 1 Apercu 2 Tripitz 3 Masked Assassin 1:37.9
2006 1 Reigning To Win 2 Danleigh 3 Carry To Glory 1:37.4
2005 1 Darci Brahma 2 Ready As 3 Daemons 1:34.9
2004 1 Outback Prince 2 Star Shiraz 3 Lords A Leaping 1:34.1
2003 1 Picaday 2 Promoted 3 Ambulance 1:35.8
2002 1 Lovely Jubly 2 Top Echelon 3 Big Breakfast 1:35.3
2001 1 Juanmo 2 Barawin 3 Evander 1:35.1
2000 1 Show A Heart 2 Lady Mulan 3 Rapid Man 1:36.8