Shannon Stakes

  • Date: Saturday September 24, 2016
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 1500m
  • Conditions: 3yo and up Handicap
  • Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Shannon Stakes News

Moral Victory to chase G1 win after Shannon Stakes victory

Moral Victory to chase G1 win after Shannon Stakes victory

Trainer Tim Martin will turn his attention to the Group 1 Toorak Handicap at Caulfield with Moral Victory who made it two wins on the trot in taking out the Group 2 $175,000 Shannon Stakes (1500m) at Rosehill today.

Moral Victory, above, scores back to back Rosehill wins with his victory in the Shannon Stakes. …

The 2016 Shannon Stakes is a Group 2 event held in September every year at the famous Rosehill Gardens Racecourse during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The 1500m race is worth $175,000 in prize money for the best horse aged three and above under handicap weighting.

Bet on Shannon Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The Shannon Stakes is always a very tight affair as is expected with good quality handicap races. There are a host of lead up events used by trainers coming into this event with no one race providing a great form guide leading into the Shannon Stakes.

From this race it’s up to connections to judge the performance and whether it’s worth having a go at the Group 1 Epsom Handicap at Randwick a fortnight later or if it’s better to stay at Group 2 level and contest something like the Crystal Mile at Moonee Valley.

There have been a few notable horses to cross the line first in the Shannon Stakes over the years and the event has a history of putting together a more than handy field.

Recently it’s probably got even better with 2008 winner Musket holding off competition from Black Piranha and Ice Chariot.

In 2009 it was a similar story with Drumbeats beating home dual Group 1 winner Rangirangdoo.

2011 Doncaster Mile winner Sacred Choice could only manage a third in the 2010 Shannon Stakes which was won by Firebolt.

2016 Shannon Stakes Field

The Shannon Stakes field is usually comprised of a number of talented handicappers, the majority of which hail from Sydney stables. Occasionally horses from Victoria will make the journey, and you’ll sometimes see a few internationals in the Shannon Stakes field.

The 2016 Shannon Stakes field will be released on Wednesday 21 September. It can now be seen below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 13x35217x2 COUNTERATTACK Chris Waller 5 59kg 102
2 57x0955x30 ENTIRELY PLATINUM (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Christian Reith 2 58.5kg 101
3 57x3x12x68 COSMIC CUBE (NZ) Chris Waller Rory Hutchings 3 57.5kg 99
4 5070x67x53 HI WORLD Lee & Anthony Freedman Blake Shinn 4 56kg 96
5 61x14124x9 OLD NORTH John O’Shea Tim Clark 8 53kg 90
6 1524536×51 MORAL VICTORY Tim Martin Jason Collett 6 53kg 87
7 7115x330x2 CAPED CRUSADER (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Ms Kathy O’Hara 7 53kg 84
8 22x0013x70 KELLYVILLE FLYER Jason Attard Ms Winona Costin 10 53kg 82
9 4x417825x6 UNEQUIVOCAL Noel Mayfield-Smith Jay Ford 1 53kg 80
10 32113Px212 MORE TO GAIN Amanda Turner & Mauro Poletti Peter Wells 9 53kg 74

2016 Shannon Stakes Nominations

The Shannon Stakes nominations attract a lot of handicappers looking to get another group victory on their record. Because it is just short of a mile in distance, the Shannon Stakes nominations feature a mixture of sprinters, milers and handy stayers.

The 2016 Shannon Stakes nominations will be released on Monday 19 September and published here shortly afterwards.

The Shannon Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Shannon Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Moral Victory 2 Caped Crusader 3 Cosmic Cube 1:28.0
2015 1 Vashka 2 God’s In Him 3 Messene 1:29.2
2014 1 Rock Sturdy 2 Liberty’s Choice 3 Ninth Legion 1:28.8
2013 1 Rain Drum 2 Centennial Park 3 Our Desert Warrior 1:29.3
2012 1 Rolling Pin 2 Offenders 3 Fat Al 1:31.2
2011 1 King Lionheart 2 Fast Clip 3 Lone Command 1:28.6
2010 1 Firebolt 2 Centennial Park 3 Sacred Choice 1:28.5
2009 1 Drumbeats 2 Rangirangdoo 3 Strat’s Flyer 1:30.1
2008 1 Musket 2 Black Piranha 3 Ice Chariot 1:30.5
2007 1 Race Not Run 2 3
2006 1 Stormhill 2 Temple Hills 3 Newton’s Rings 1:28.4
2005 1 Lotteria 2 Studebaker 3 Swick 1:30.2
2004 1 Nips 2 Whoc 3 Irongail 1:28.3
2003 1 Sportsman 2 Amex 3 Nips 1:28.1
2002 1 Gordo 2 Shot Of Thunder 3 Evander 1:29.7
2001 1 On Type 2 Century Kid 3 Diamond Dane 1:22.4
2000 1 Al Mansour 2 Chinhoyi 3 Varicool 1:29.5