The Nivison

  • Date: October 15th
  • Racecourse: Royal Randwick
  • Race Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: 4YO&UP Mares SWP
  • Prize Money: $150,000

2016 The Nivison News

Lough Neagh Stakes The Right Race For Peace Force

Lough Neagh Stakes The Right Race For Peace Force

Peace Force has been included in the 2015 Lough Neagh Stakes field and trainer Gerald Ryan believes that it is the right race for the consistent mare.

Peace Force has the chance to return to winning form in the 2015 Lough Neagh Stakes at Doomben this weekend. Photo by: Daniel Costello

Peace Force returned to …

The Group 3 2016 The Nivison is a 1200m sprint held at Royal Randwick Racecourse during October.

Bet on The Nivison Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Run under set weights plus penalties conditions, The Nivison is open to mares aged four years and older. Paying $125,000, The Nivison is a decent target for handy mares who haven’t gone south to Victoria or to the spelling paddock before summer.

Held towards the very tail end of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, The Nivison is hosted by the City Tattersalls Club and shares the race program with three listed races. These are the Gothic Stakes (1400m), the Alinghi Stakes (1100m) and the Ethereal Stakes (2000m).

There are a few good lead up races in the area. The Group 3 Golden Pendant (1400m) used to be a fairly good guide as the Research Stakes but now tends to attract a fairly classy field. The Group 3 Sheraco Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 Tibbie Stakes can also be good guides.

Inaugurated in 1994 as the Tarien Quality Handicap, The Nivison was originally named after Tarien, a champion mare who won the 1953 George Main Stakes (among other races). In 1997, the race was renamed to its current title.

Prior to 2011, The Nivison was held during September. It was upgraded to listed status fairly quickly following establishment in 1997. In 2013 The Nivison was upgraded to group 3.

There was no 2007 The Nivison because of equine influenza. Notable The Nivison winners include Amber (1996), Spinning Hill (2000), Besame Mucho (2004) and Diamond Earth (2013).

2016 The Nivison Field

The Nivison field is usually comprised of a fairly diverse range of mares. Horses who have previously won a few group events might line up against those that have only had a few black type starts. As a general rule, it pays to do your homework on The Nivison field prior to punting, as you never know which horse might just step up to the plate.

The 2016 The Nivison field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 213x169x3x LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price Craig Newitt 1 61kg 116
2 x130x154x2 OUR BOY MALACHI Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 11 57kg 108
3 346x115x16 FAATINAH David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss (a) 10 54kg 102
4 x22126x113 WILD RAIN Mark Kavanagh Stephen Baster 3 54kg 106
5 821x0x1011 HELLBENT Darren Weir Craig Williams 7 53kg 96
6 419053524x GRANE Robbie Griffiths Jye McNeil (a) 4 53kg 92
7 11x324314x RUETTIGER (NZ) Lee & Anthony Freedman Damian Lane 5 53kg 91
8 x361179x12 VIDDORA Lloyd Kennewell Joe Bowditch 2 53kg 86
9 8x5315x6x4 TAKE PRIDE Murray Johnson Darren Gauci 6 53kg 82
10 72x720143x ORUJO Shawn Mathrick Ms Jackie Beriman 9 53kg 80
11 31x60x8833 SUNDAY ESCAPE Andrew Murray Tommy Berry 8 53kg 78

The Nivison Results

The Nivison results, winners and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Egyptian Symbol 2 Artistry 3 Rule The River  1:10.6
2015 1 Nayeli 2 Peace Force 3 Miss Cover Girl  1:09.2
2014 1 Avoid Lightning 2 Brook Road 3 Rose Of Choice  1:10.3
2013 1 Diamond Earth 2 Plucky Belle 3 Hidden Kisses  1:09.6
2012 1 Quidnunc 2 Capital Commander 3 Alberton Park  1:08.5
2011 1 Balmont 2 Pontiana 3 Ofcourseican  1:10.8
2010 1 Marquardt 2 Dorf Command 3 Kiss From A Rose  1:10.2
2009 1 Madame Pedrille 2 Strawberry Field 3 Beaucoup  1:10.6
2008 1 Jewelled Gate 2 Illuminates 3 Bernicia  1:09.8
2007 1 Race Not Held 2 3  
2006 1 Whoever 2 Coolroom Candidate 3 Kakakakatie  1:09.3
2005 1 Our Sweet Moss 2 Fumble 3 Imana  1:09.6
2004 1 Besame Mucho 2 Wild Queen 3 Wasimah  1:10.4
2003 1 Lucida 2 Fair Embrace 3 Fatoon  1:10.0
2002 1 Gwendolyn 2 Provokes 3 Quest For Success  1:11.3
2001 1 Marlina 2 Perfect Halo 3 Life Is Beautiful  1:09.8
2000 1 Spinning Hill 2 Wynciti 3 Miss Zoe  1:10.4