The Galaxy Handicap

  • Date: Saturday March 18, 2017
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance:
  • Conditions: Open Handicap
  • Prize Money: $700,000

2016 The Galaxy Handicap News

Doyle Plans to be back for Astern in The Galaxy

Doyle Plans to be back for Astern in The Galaxy

Injured jockey James Doyle plans to be back in the saddle to ride glamour colt Astern in the Group 1 $700,000 The Galaxy (1100m) at Rosehill on Golden Slipper Day March 18.

Injured jockey James Doyle, above winning on Veranillo in the Hinchinbrook Stakes at Randwick, plans to be back in the saddle on Golden …

The 2017 The Galaxy Handicap is a Group 1 race that is run at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse. Run as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, The Galaxy is raced over a sprinters distance of 1,100 metres and is worth a total of $700,000 in prize money. The Galaxy is run under open handicap conditions and is one of five Group 1 events, along with the Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m), Ranvet Stakes (2000m), George Ryder Stakes (1500m) and Rosehill Guineas (2000m), that is run at Rosehill Gardens on the final Saturday of March.

Bet on The Galaxy Handicap Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Prior to running in The Galaxy many starters will often have come through races like the  Group 3 Liverpool City Cup (1300m) or Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m), while those horse coming from Melbourne are likely to have contested the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) at Caulfield.

The Galaxy was first held in 1972 and was given it status as a Group 2 event in 1980 before being upgraded to Group 1 status in 1984. The most controversial running of The Galaxy took place in 2010; with Ortensia passing the post first but failing a drug test. A lengthy four month inquiry ensued, with Ortensia eventually being disqualified from the race and the new winner being named as original runner-up Shellscrape.

Other notable winners of The Galaxy include Bletchingly (1975), Schillaci (1992), Gold Ace (1996), Charge Forward (2005) and Magnus (2007).

The Galaxy Field

The Galaxy field features some of the leading sprinters in Australia and can feature a capacity of 19 runners. The Galaxy does not normally draw as strong a field as the Group 1 T.J. Smith Stakes (1200m) that is held three weeks late, but is always a very competitive race and the event is noted for its number of close finishes and the poor winning record of favourites.

2017 The Galaxy Field

The 2017 The Galaxy field is published here.

2017 The Galaxy Nominations

The 2017 The Galaxy Handicap nominations will be provided below.

The Galaxy Winners & Results

Below you will find the past winners of The Galaxy since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Griante 2 Shiraz 3 Dothraki 1:03.7
2015 1 Sweet Idea 2 Kuro 3 Miracles Of Life 1:02.69
2014 1 Tiger Tees 2 Anatina 3 Villa Verde 1:05.02
2013 1 Bel Sprinter 2 Snitzerland 3 Decision Time 1:05.3
2012 1 Temple of Boom 2 Nobby Snip 3 Lady’s Angel 1:03.4
2011 1 Atomic Force 2 Thankgodyou’rehere 3 Cardinal Virtue 1:05.3
2010 1 Shellscrape 2 Swift Alliance 3 Stryker 1:03.2
2009 1 Nicconi 2 Danleigh 3 Gold Trail 1:03.5
2008 1 Typhoon Zed 2 Keen Commander 3 Fritzs Princess 1:04.1
2007 1 Magnus 2 Fast n Famous 3 Macs Tune 1:03.2
2006 1 Proprietor 2 Media 3 Black Ink 1:03.1
2005 1 Charge Forward 2 Spark Of Life 3 Red Oog 1:04.7
2004 1 Spark Of Life 2 Taikun 3 Blessum 1:03.7
2003 1 Snowland 2 Star Of Florida 3 Bradshaw 1:04.5
2002 1 Mistegic 2 Century Kid 3 Excellerator 1:02.7
2001 1 Padstow 2 Camena 3 Catatonic 1:04.0
2000 1 Black Bean 2 Commands 3 Padstow 1:02.9