The Bart Cummings

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2015 Bart Cummings is a Group 3 staying event held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne during the Victorian Spring Racing Carnival.

Raced over 2500m under quality handicap conditions, the Bart Cummings is a thrilling race that pits some of the best stayers on the circuit against each other.

Open to horses of all ages and sexes, the Bart Cummings ensures quality competition and fantastic form guidance. Worth $300,000, the Bart Cummings is an impressive Group 3 race. It is regularly targeted by stayers looking for a launchpad into the Melbourne Spring Carnival staying events. As the first group level event held over 2000m at Flemington during the spring, the Bart Cummings holds a lot of value as a warm-up race.

The Bart Cummings is held on Turnbull Stakes Day alongside eight other black-type events. These are the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes, Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes, Group 2 Gilgai Stakes, Group 2 Blazer Stakes and four Listed events.

Successful runners in the Bart Cummings often seek entry into later staying races which carry more prestige and prize money. The Group 1 Caulfield Stakes and Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes are two of the preferred events for horses to continue on to.

The Bart Cummings gets its name, of course, from legendary trainer Bart Cummings, trainer of twelve Melbourne Cup winners. Previously known as the Banjo Paterson, the race was named after the famed trainer in 2004. A considerable number of horses have in the past raced in the event prior to a Melbourne Cup run, so it seemed like a natural choice of race to honour Mr Cummings.

Initially a listed event, the Bart Cummings was granted Group 3 status in 2014. Notable Bart Cummings winners include Dolphin Jo (2007) and Tanby (2012).

2015 Bart Cummings Field

The Bart Cummings field regularly features impressive stayers. With the prize money increase that accompanies an upgrade to group status, the 2015 Bart Cummings field will no doubt have a few big names scattered through it. Held right around the time a lot of foreign raiders are entering the country, expect to see some internationals in the Bart Cummings field.

The 2015 Bart Cummings field will be published here on Wednesday, October 3rd.

2015 Bart Cummings Nominations

A considerable number of stayers enter the Bart Cummings nominations ever year. The upgrade to Group 3 in 2014 also affected the Bart Cummings nominations, with better stayers now seeing it as a more worthy opportunity to stretch out over a decent distance.

The 2015 Bart Cummings nominations will be published here on Monday, September 28th.

Bart Cummings Results

Bart Cummings results and winning times since 2006 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 Let’s Make Adeal 2 Our Ivanhowe 3 Hawkspur 2:35.66
2014 1 Who Shot Thebarman 2 Marksmanship 3 Anudjawun 2:39.62
2013 1 Araldo 2 Sea Moon 3 Gotta Take Care 2:38.23
2012 1 Tanby 2 Maluckyday 3 Dame Claire 2:36.69
2011 1 Mourayan 2 Niwot 3 Showcause 2:40.78
2010 1 Harris Tweed 2 Exceptionally 3 Above Average 2:40.32
2009 1 Light Vision 2 Miss Darcey 3 Zacroona 2:38.76
2008 1 Light Vision 2 Baughurst 3 Zavite 2:41.34
2007 1 Dolphin Jo 2 The Fuzz 3 Light Vision 2:39.06
2006 1 Irazu 2 Aznavour 3 Bay Story 2:38.22