Summer Cup

  • Date: Friday December 26, 2015
  • Racecourse: Randwick
  • Race Distance: 2000m
  • Conditions: 3YO+ Handicap
  • Prize Money: $125,000

2016 Summer Cup News

Waller Dominates Small Summer Cup Field

Waller Dominates Small Summer Cup Field

The Australian Turf Club (ATC) may have extended entries for the feature race at Royal Randwick on Boxing Day, but still only seven gallopers make up the Summer Cup field for Saturday including two Chris Waller-trained hopefuls.

Junoob will carry top weight in the 2015 Summer Cup at Royal Randwick on Boxing Day for Chris …

Read More Summer Cup News

The 2015 Summer Cup is a Group 3 race that takes place at Randwick racecourse on Boxing Day in December each year.

Bet on Summer Cup Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Run over a distance of 2000 metres, the Summer Cup is one of the only Group races to take place during the summer in Sydney.

The Summer Cup is run under open handicap conditions and is worth a total of $125,000 in prize money.

The Summer Cup was first run in 1890 when it was run over a distance of 13 furlongs. The distance was altered to 12 furlong from 1953 and was changed to 2,400 metres in 1972 due to the introduction of the metric system in Australia. In 2013, the Summer Cup ran for the first time over its current distance of 2000m.

The Summer Cup was not held in 2007 due to the outbreak of equine influenza. The race was held at Rosehill Racecourse in 2012 due to renovations at Randwick.

The Summer Cup field is often made up of local gallopers who are looking to win a staying race while most of the better stayers are spelling in preparation for the autumn carnival. Those horses that perform well in the Group 2 Villiers Stakes the week prior will often back up again in the Summer Cup.

Notable Summer Cup winners include Limitless (1986), Super Impose (1988), Catalan Prince (1995), Zanetta (1999), Stadium (2003), Jamberoo (2006), Solid Billing (2009) and Spechenka (2010).

2015 Summer Cup Field

The final Summer Cup field is usually determined following acceptances a few days prior to the race; there is no set day because Boxing Day varies. The 2015 Summer Cup field will be announced on December 22nd. Horses that enter the Summer Cup field are usually fairly experienced stayers who have had a number of starts over this distance or greater.

The 2015 Summer Cup field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 84×7509201 JUNOOB (GB) Chris Waller Blake Shinn 6 61kg 106
2 3336×98380 I’M IMPOSING (GB) Chris Waller Tommy Berry 7 59kg 102
3 36264×4315 MIGHTY LUCKY Fred Cowell Ms Kathy O’Hara 2 56kg 96
4 49×0052182 SEBRINA Bjorn Baker Brenton Avdulla 5 54kg 83
5 x731345x30 BANKSTERS BONUS (IRE) John Sargent Thomas Huet 3 54kg 72
6 0157662071 GET ON THE GRANGE Allan Kehoe Sam Clipperton 1 54kg 67
7 51115×8645 KISEKI DANE Mick Dwyer Ms Winona Costin (a) 4 54kg 66

2015 Summer Cup Nominations

The Summer Cup nominations are usually announced around a week before the race. Because it’s such a busy season for everyone, there often isn’t a great chance for punters to look over the Summer Cup nominations. This isn’t a major handicap though, as many of the Summer Cup nominations aren’t particularly classy types anyway.

The 2015 Summer Cup nominations will be provided here.

Summer Cup Results

Here you will find a list of Summer Cup winners and results since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 I’m Imposing 2 Midsummer Sun 3 Casino Dancer  2:04.8
2013 1 I’m Imposing 2 Travolta 3 Destiny’s Kiss 2:04.8
2012 1 Le Roi 2 Brightest 3 Praecido  2:35.1
2011 1 Yulalona 2 Nextanix 3 Count Encosta 2:30.1
2010 1 Spechenka 2 Strike One 3 Let Them Have It  2:26.3
2009 1 Solid Billing 2 Zazabeau 3 Rockwood  2:30.6
2008 1 Ready To Lift 2 Bellagio Wynn 3 Zazabeau  2:31.8
2007 Race Not Run
2006 1 Jamberoo 2 Game On 3 Taken At The Flood  2.32.9
2005 1 Aqua D’Amore 2 County Tyrone 3 Beat The Tide  2.28.1
2004 1 This Manshood 2 Vereza 3 New York Style  2.27.8
2003 1 Stadium 2 Ocho 3 Stoway  2.30.1
2002 1 Stoway 2 Ego Fast 3 Barawin  2.33.2
2001 1 Majestically 2 Zareyev 3 Power of Pegasus  2.29.3
2000 1 Lanolin 2 Vitrinite 3 Consolidator  2.27.4