Stutt Stakes

  • Date: Friday September 30, 2016
  • Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • Race Distance: 1600m
  • Conditions: 3yo Set-Weight
  • Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Stutt Stakes News

Dunn and Team Hawkes combine again in Ladbrokes Caulfield Classic

Dunn and Team Hawkes combine again in Ladbrokes Caulfield Classic

Jockey Dwayne Dunn and Team Hawkes will be looking for more success during Caulfield Cup week when they combine with Inference in the Group 3 $500,000 Ladbrokes Caulfield Classic (2000m) at Caulfield on Saturday.

Jockey Dwayne Dunn, above, will combine with Team Hawkes again with Inference in the Ladbrokes Classic at Caulfield. Photo by Ultimate …

The 2016 Bill Stutt Stakes is a Group 2 event run on a Friday night at Moonee Valley Racecourse in late September during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. It’s hosted on the same day as the Group 1 Moir Stakes and run over a mile journey with $200,000 in prize money on offer.

Bet on Stutt Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The Stutt Stakes is named in honour of Moonee Valley Racing Club’s former chairman Bill Stutt.

The Stutt Stakes is the first Group rated event of the Melbourne spring season run over a mile specifically for three year olds. It’s a specialist lead up event to the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas which is run under the exact same conditions and distance except on Caulfield Racecourse a fortnight later.

Not all the top hopes will run in this event though with many going through the Caulfield Guineas Prelude series but there is still plenty of talent present on the winners list.

Whobegotyou won the 2008 Stutt Stakes and became the most recent horse to go on and claim the Caulfield Guineas as well.

From there he also won the AAMI (Moonee Valley) Vase and came agonisingly close when second in the Victoria Derby.

Winners and placers in this event often go on to finish in the money in the same events as Whobegotyou and in 2005 Maybe Better even contested the Melbourne Cup where he finished third.

Other notable past winners of the Bill Stutt Stakes include 1989 champion Zabeel, 1990 champion Canny Lad and 1996 champion Encosta De Lago.

2016 Stutt Stakes Field

The Stutt Stakes field usually contains a number of decent three year olds. Because it is run under set weights conditions, it’s relatively easy to see which horses in the Stutt Stakes field are destined to be top runners.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 2x2228x11 DETECTIVE Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 5 57kg 78
2 114×72 TESSERA John O’Shea Craig Williams 6 57kg 81
3 1240×11 HEY DOC Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 2 57kg 76
4 5x45512x05 PYX CHAMBER John O’Shea Michael Dee (a) 9 57kg 67
5 1112 MANHATTAN STREET Lisa Latta Jonathan Riddell 1 57kg 73
6 21×11 INFERENCE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 3 57kg 72
7 5×11 MANDALAY BAY Matt Laurie Ben Melham 4 57kg 66
8 213 KACHING Ciaron Maher Nicholas Hall 11 57kg 64
9 61359 BACK TO THE BOWLER Stuart Webb Mark Zahra 8 57kg 63
10 514 LAND OF PLENTY Mick Price Craig Newitt 7 57kg 63
11 41 THE RICH FISHER David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Dylan Dunn (a) 10 57kg 62

2015 Stutt Stakes Nominations

The Stutt Stakes nominations regularly feature some of the top three year olds in Victoria. You can always expect to see a mixture of thoroughly proven milers alongside less-than-fancy horses in the Stutt Stakes nominations.

The 2015 Stutt Stakes nominations will be publicly released on Monday, September 21st and can be viewed here.

The Stutt Stakes Winners & Results

Stutt Stakes results and winning times since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 Sovereign Nation 2 Get The Picture 3 Gredington 1:36.1
2014 1 Almalad 2 Moonovermanhattan 3 Kumaon 1:38.8
2013 1 Divine Calling 2 Shamus Award 3 Cluster 1:37.3
2012 1 Pierro 2 Carringbush Jack 3 Jimando 1:36.3
2011 1 Chase the Rainbow 2 Cute Emily 3 Sabrage 1:38.3
2010 1 Hollowlea 2 Run For Levi 3 Bullbars 1:37.2
2009 1 Carrara 2 Extra Hero 3 Miss With Attitude 1:39.5
2008 1 Whobegotyou 2 All American 3 Carnero 1:36.3
2007 1 Barbaricus 2 Davcon 3 Cecconi 1:36.0
2006 1 Churchill Downs 2 Magic Jet 3 Ankh Morpork 1:36.7
2005 1 Red Dazzler 2 Stratum 3 Maybe Better 1:38.0
2004 1 Mr Martini 2 Under Command 3 Danaurum 1:37.8
2003 1 Casual Pass 2 Special Harmony 3 Face Value 1:37.2
2002 1 Helenus 2 Aint Here 3 Half Hennessy 1:39.6
2001 1 Viscount 2 Dash For Cash 3 Amalfi 1:38.1
2000 1 Sarson Trail 2 Keeper 3 Make Me A Miracle 1:38.7