Spring Champion Stakes

  • Date: Saturday 8 October, 2016
  • Racecourse: Randwick
  • Race Distance: 2,000m
  • Conditions: 3YO Set Weights
  • Prize Money: $500,000

2016 Spring Champion Stakes News

Vanbrugh to chase G1 win in Doomben Cup before stud duties

Vanbrugh to chase G1 win in Doomben Cup before stud duties

Vanbrugh will get a chance to win another Group 1 trophy before he starts stud duties at Windsor Park Stud when he lines up in the Group 1 $650,000 Hardy Brothers Doomben Cup (2000m) at Doomben on May 20.

Vanbrugh, above, will run in the Doomben Cup before commencing stud duties at Windsor park Stud …

The 2016 Spring Champion Stakes is a Group 1 race that is held in October each year. One of the showcase events of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, the Spring Champion Stakes is open to three-year-olds only and is run at Royal Randwick Racecourse. The Spring Champion Stakes is run over a stayer’s distance of 2,000 metres and is run under set-weight conditions. Previously run on Epsom Super Saturday, the Spring Champion Stakes is now run a week later as the feature event and is worth $500,000 in prize money

Bet on Spring Champion Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The first Spring Champion Stakes was run in 1971 when it was won by a horse named Gay Icarus. The race began as a Principal race and was given its official Group 1 status in 1979. The Spring Champion Stakes was changed to a distance of 1,800 metres for just one year in 2001. The 2007 Spring Champion Stakes was not run due to an outbreak of Equine Influenza. The record for the fastest Spring Champion Stakes winning time is held by Dignity Dancer who won the race in in a time of 2 minutes and 0.43 seconds in 1998. Jockey R. Quinton holds the record for the most number of Spring Champion Stakes wins, claiming victory four times on Gold Brick (1973), Veloso (1982), Sir Dapper (1983) and Easter (1985).

A good lead up race to the Spring Champion Stakes is often the Listed Dulcify Quality held the week before at the same racecourse or the Group 2 Gloaming Stakes run at Rosehill Racecourse in September. Successful Spring Champion Stakes horses often go on to compete in the Group 1 Victoria Derby later in the month at Flemington in Melbourne. Monaco Consul (2009) achieved the Spring Champion Stakes and Victoria Derby double in 2009. Other notable winners of the Spring Champion Stakes include Kingston Town (1979), Stylish Century (1989), Nothin’ Leica Dane (1995), Tie The Knot (1997), Savabeel (2004) and Erewhon (2010).

2016 Spring Champion Stakes Field

The Spring Champion Stakes field regularly draws top three year olds from around the country to the Randwick track for an intense showdown across 2000m. One of the more testing events for three year olds, only the best horses make it into the final Spring Champion Stakes field. In the past, it hasn’t been unusual to see top trainers such as Gai Waterhouse, Peter Snowden and Anthony Cummings have horses in the Spring Champion Stakes field.

Just looking at the nominations, it’s easy to tell that the 2015 Spring Champion Stakes field will ensure an entertaining race. The 2016 Spring Champion Stakes field is now published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 323211×463 PRIZED ICON James Cummings Glyn Schofield 4 56.5kg 88
2 634×111 VELADERO Chris Waller Rory Hutchings 3 56.5kg 80
3 1×16 SWEAR Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 11 56.5kg 76
4 8×1642217 HIGH MIST Chris Waller Jason Collett 6 56.5kg 74
5 5×512 HONEYWINE John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 2 56.5kg 72
6 1×134 RETALIATION John O’Shea Tim Clark 9 56.5kg 68
7 515465 TUMULTUOUS Chris Waller Tye Angland 5 56.5kg 64
8 7×7032 READY FIRE AIM Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Christian Reith 1 56.5kg 56
9 474×137 HAND IT IN Rodney Ollerton Chris O’Brien 7 56.5kg 53
10 39 KHARTOUM Pat Carey Joshua Parr 10 56.5kg
11 11x21x62 YANKEE ROSE David Vandyke Dean Yendall 8 54.5kg 101

2016 Spring Champion Stakes Nominations

On Monday, October 3rd, the 2016 Spring Champion Stakes nominations were released alongside those for the Epsom Handicap and the Metropolitan Handicap.

The 2016 Spring Champion Stakes nominations will be provided below.

Spring Champion Stakes Results

Below you will find a list of winners of the Spring Champion Stakes since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Yankee Rose 2 Swear 3 Prized Icon 2:02.43
2015 1 Vanbrugh 2 I’m Belucci 3 Man Of Choice 2:02.80
2014 1 Hampton Court 2 First Seal 3 Sweynesse 2:00.19
2013 1 Complacent 2 Criterion 3 Savvy Nature 2:03.34
2012 1 It’s A Dundeel 2 Proisir 3 Honorius 2:02.63
2011 1 Doctor Doom 2 Darci Be Good 3 Sangster 2:05.58
2010 1 Erewhon 2 Retrieve 3 Praecido/Shootoff 2:02.9
2009 1 Monaco Consul 2 Gathering 3 Viking Legend 2:09.9
2008 1 Sousa 2 Predatory Pricer 3 Excelltastic 2:06.2
2007 Race Not Run
2006 1 Teranaba 2 All Black Gold 3 He’s No Pie Eater 2:04.5
2005 1 Hotel Grand 2 Pendragon 3 Duelled 2:04.8
2004 1 Savabeel 2 Outback Prince 3 Cedar Manor 2:07.2
2003 1 Niello 2 November Dreaming 3 Tsuimai 2:03.4
2002 1 Platinum Scissors 2 Soprana 3 Maskerado 2:04.3
2001 1 Viking Ruler 2 Evander 3 Silver Baron 1:49.5
2000 1 Universal Prince 2 Falls The Shadow 3 Go Bint 2:05.1