Cape Grim Beef Stakes

  • Date: October 8th, 2016
  • Racecourse: Caulfield
  • Race Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: 4YO+ Mares SWP
  • Prize Money: $150,000

2016 Cape Grim Beef Stakes News

Srikandi On Track for Spring Racing Return

Srikandi On Track for Spring Racing Return

A standout performer over the 2014 autumn and winter racing carnivals, trainer Ciaron Maher is thrilled with the form of classy mare Srikandi, revealing she is on track for a racing return in the Group 3 Sportingbet Sprint Series Final (1200m) at Caulfield on October 11th.

Trainer Ciaron Maher is pleased with the …

The 2016 Cape Grim Beef Stakes is the final event in the three race Sportingbet Sprint Series. Officially registered as the Northwood Plume Stakes, this race is referred to as the Cape Grim Beef Stakes due to a sponsorship agreement.

Bet on Cape Grim Beef Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Along with the Group 3 Cockram Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 How Now Stakes (1200m), the Cape Grim Beef Stakes comprises an impressive series of races designated specifically for mares.

Raced over 1200m (like the rest of the series), the Cape Grim Beef Stakes is a set weights with penalties contest for mares aged four years and older. Because of the race conditions, you can usually expect the classier types to come out on top.

The Cape Grim Beef Stakes is worth $150,000, with a $50,000 bonus to the winner if they previously won one of the two heats.

Held on Caulfield Guineas Day, the Cape Grim Beef Stakes sits on an absolutely massive racing program. A total of ten black-type events are held on the day, which include the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas, Group 1 Caulfield Stakes, Group 1 Thousand Guineas, Group 1 Toorak Handicap, Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes, Group 2 Schillaci Stakes, Group 3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes, Listed Debutant Stakes and Listed Weekend Hussler Stakes.

The How Now Stakes and Cockram Stakes are two of the more popular lead up races to the Cape Grim Beef Stakes. The Group 3 Sheraco Stakes (1200m) held at Rosehill is another viable option.

After the Cape Grim Beef Stakes, the classier mares often progress onto fairly prestigious events such as the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes.

Originally, the Northwood Plume Stakes was named after the horses of the same name, who took out the Thousand Guineas in 1994. In 2013, the Cape Grim Beef Stakes was recognised with an upgrade to Group 3 status. The race, along with the other two events in the series, provides an important opportunity for mares to showcase their skills.

The Cape Grim Beef Stakes has gone by a few different labels prior to the current sponsorship, including the Carlton Draught Northwood Plume Stakes and the Le Tan Stakes.

Notable Cape Grim Beef Stakes winners include Crimson Reign (2005), Belong To Many (2008) and Serene Star (2012).

2016 Cape Grim Beef Stakes Field

The Cape Grim Beef Stakes field usually contains a fairly classy set of mares. Those horses which make it into the final Cape Grim Beef Stakes field usually have fairly decent black-type experience and can stand up against some of the better colts and geldings.

The 2016 Cape Grim Beef Stakes field is now published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 118x227x43 MISS GUNPOWDER Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 11 58kg 85
2 21x27024x1 SECRET AGENDA Mick Price Damien Oliver 10 57kg 100
3 234x11212x SILENT SEDITION Andrew Noblet Craig Williams 6 57kg 85
4 1x34127x42 SHEIDEL David & B Hayes & T Dabernig James McDonald 9 56kg 102
5 16x24088x3 EXCLUSIVE LASS Nigel Blackiston Michael Walker 13 56kg 88
6 90x561324x FORGERESS Quinton Scott Nicholas Hall 2 55kg 86
7 x518321504 A LOTTA LOVE Sam Pritchard-Gordon Craig Newitt 8 55kg 87
8 122225×602 MOSSIN’ AROUND Grahame Begg Hugh Bowman 3 55kg 76
9 312x3286x5 JALAN JALAN Colin Little Luke Nolen 4 55kg 78
10 1x321x11x2 RAVI Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 14 55kg 87
11 44×9583244 FRILL SEEKING Matthew Smith Damian Lane 1 55kg 80
12 0337×85341 NOT A HAPPY CAMPER Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Ben Melham 12 55kg 77
13 28416×1921 LAKE COMO (NZ) Pat Hyland Corey Brown 7 55kg 74
14 2x2422x111 AMERISTRALIA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 5 55kg 70

2016 Cape Grim Beef Stakes Nominations

The Cape Grim Beef Stakes nominations are usually a fairly inclusive list of the top mares currently in the midst of their racing campaign. Mares target the Cape Grim Beef Stakes nominations following decent runs earlier in the spring, and as a result there’s usually a bit of form for punters to look to.

The 2016 Cape Grim Beef Stakes nominations will be published here on Monday, October 5th.

Cape Grim Beef Stakes Results

Cape Grim Beef Stakes results and winning times since 2005 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Sheidel 2 Silent Sedition 3 A Lotta Love 1:09.04
2015 1 Politeness 2 Wawall 3 Bring Me The Maid 1:09.74
2014 1 Griante 2 Girl Guide 3 Shamal Wind 1:09.98
2013 1 Aerobatics 2 Assertive Eagle 3 Counted 1:10.4
2012 1 Serene Star 2 Koonoomoo 3 Miss Marx 1:09.7
2011 1 Hinemoa 2 Celts 3 Lady Mahler 1:09.8
2010 1 Avenue 2 Red Flair 3 Dorf Command 1:09.2
2009 1 Our Lona 2 Tootsie 3 Velocitea 1:09.4
2008 1 Belong To Many 2 Bel Mer 3 Hanna Rossa 1.10.7
2007 1 Storm Signal 2 Soleil 3 Paris Zero 1:10.5
2006 1 Personal Ensign 2 Pasikatera 3 Storm Signal 1:09.9
2005 1 Crimson Reign 2 Aqua D’amore 3 Unabated 1:10.7