South Australian Derby

  • Date: Saturday May 2, 2015
  • Racecourse: Morphettville
  • Race Distance: 2,500m
  • Conditions: Set Weights
  • Prize Money: $500,000

2014 South Australian Derby News

Brambles And Zabeelionaire To Clash In Queensland Derby

Brambles And Zabeelionaire To Clash In Queensland Derby

A highly anticipated clash between Brambles and Zabeelionaire will take place in the Group 1 Queensland Derby at Eagle Farm this Saturday.

Brambles is already favourite for the Derby after his impressive three and a half length win in the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes at Doomben last month.

Brambles' impressive win last start sees …

The 2015 South Australian Derby is a Group 1 race that takes place at Morphettville Racecourse in early May of each year. Run on the same day as the Listed Adelaide Guineas and the Listed Oakland Plate, the SA Derby is a 2,500 metre race for stayers and is open to three-year-old horses only. Held as part of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival, the South Australian Derby is run under set-weight conditions and is worth a total of $500,000 in prize money.

Bet on South Australian Derby Racing:
$250 Bonus Bet from

The Group 1 Australasian Oaks and the Group 3 South Australian Oaks are avenues that fillies often take on their way to the SA Derby. Zarita (2008) was the last filly to take out the prestigious SA Oaks and SA Derby double. Those who are successful in the South Australian Derby are often seen in later in the year in some of the best races during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Horses such as Mummify (2003) won the South Australian Derby and then went on to win the prestigious Caulfield Cup in the spring, while Subzero won both the South Australian Derby and the Melbourne Cup in 1992.

The inaugural running of the South Australian Derby was in 1860 when it was won by a horse named Midnight. The race was originally held over a distance of 12 furlongs (2400m) until 1973 when it was changed to 2,500 metres. The distance of the race constantly varied between these distances, as well as a one-year stint at 2,600m in 1980, until 2001 when it was permanently changed to today’s 2,500 metres. The SA Derby was not held from 1869-1874 or from 1884-1889 and then from 1942-1943 due to the Second World War. The race was also not held for one year in 1983.

Prominent horses to have won the SA Derby include Sergius (1910), Cosmos (1917), Idle Banter (1948), Galloway (1957), Sir Gerald (1973), Rebel raider (2009) and Kidnapped (2010).

2015 South Australian Derby Field

As soon as it is available, the 2015 South Australian Derby field will be posted here.

South Australian Derby Winners & Results

Throughout the running of the South Australian Derby many great horses have won or placed in the race and below you will find a list of the top three finishers since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2014 1 Kushadasi 2 Scratchy Bottom 3 Best Case 2:41.98
2013 1 Escado 2 Hioctdane 3 Shoreham 2:39.05
2012 1 Zabeelionaire 2 Sabrage 3 Westsouthwest 2:42.1
2011 1 Shadows In The Sun 2 Echoes Of Heaven 3 Lalla Rookh 2:39.88
2010 1 Kidnapped 2 Red Colossus 3 Sea Galleon 2:37.2
2009 1 Rebel Raider 2 Astro Gains 3 Fitoussi 2:40.3
2008 1 Zarita 2 Zagreb 3 Neugine 2:39.5
2007 1 Lazer Sharp 2 Classic De Lago 3 Red Lord 2:37.8
2006 1 Testafiable 2 Empire Gold 3 Irazu 2:43.3
2005 1 Tails Of Triomphe 2 Douro Valley 3 Kamsky 2:37.7
2004 1 Hard To Get 2 On A Jeune 3 Better Jetsetter 2:37.1
2003 1 Mummify 2 Vicksburgh 3 Lord Wooburn 2:38.7
2002 1 Pantani 2 Silver Baron 3 Lester Thunderwing 2:37.8
2001 1 Big Pat 2 Bush Padre 3 Adolescence 2:36.2
2000 1 Blue Murder 2 Mr Nelson 3 Voile D’Or 2:38.4