Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

The 2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a Group 1 race that is held each year at Caulfield Racecourse in September. Part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes  is a 1,400 metre race that is worth $500,000 in prize money. The race is run under open handicap conditions.

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is often used as a guide to the performance of horses over a mile later in the spring carnival. Races such as the Group 1 Longines Mile and the Group 2 Crystal Mile are avenues horses often take if they perform well in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. The talented Testa Rossa achieved the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and Emirates Stakes, now the Longines Mile, double in 2000.

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes shares a race day with three other black type events. These are the Group 1 Underwood Stakes, Group 2 Thousand Guineas Prelude and the Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude.

The first running of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes took place in 1951 when it was won by a horse named Jovial Lad. Throughout the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes’ history, many horses have won the race more than once, including St. Joel (1953 &1956), Anonyme (1961-62), Tauto (1970-71) and Testa Rossa (1999-2000). The fastest Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winning time was posted by Exceed And Excel, who passed the post in a time of 1 minute and 21.2 seconds. St Jude (1991) won the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in the slowest time, completing the race in 1 minute and 27.4 seconds.

Other notable horses to have won the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes include Samson (1963), Manikato (1978), Encosta De Lago (1996), Turffontein (2008) and Response (2010).

2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Field

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes field is usually comprised of some very talented handicappers. With $400,000 on offer, a number of trainers seek to get some of their more talented runners into the Rupert Clarke Stakes field. The 2016 Rupert Clarke Stakes field will be released on Wednesday September 23 and will be published here shortly after.

2017 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes nominations usually attract a lengthy list of top quality handicappers with a strong spring campaign ahead of them. Because it’s an open handicap towards the end of September, the Rupert Clarke Stakes nominations tend to draw runners already well into their spring fitness.

 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Winners & Results

Below you will find a list of winners and results for the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 Santa Ana Lane 2 Mr Sneaky 3 So Si Bon 1:22.2
2016 1 Bon Aurum 2 Voodoo Lad 3 Fast ‘n’ Rocking 1:23.4
2015 1 Stratum Star 2 Disposition 3 Under The Louvre 1.22.09
2014 1 Trust In A Gust 2 Dissident 3 Bull Point 1:23.0
2013 1 Rebel Dane 2 Fontelina 3 Solzhenitsyn 1:23.9
2012 1 Moment Of Change 2 We’re Gonna Rock 3 Solzhenitsyn 1:22.1
2011 1 Toorak Toff 2 Pinnacles 3 Master Of Design 1:21.95
2010 1 Response 2 No Evidence Needed 3 Woorim 1:22.2
2009 1 Turffontein 2 Stickpin 3 Raffaello 1:25.3
2008 1 Orange County 2 Bon Hoffa 3 Turffontein 1:24.3
2007 1 Bon Hoffa 2 Niconero 3 Wonderful World 1:22.5
2006 1 Rewaaya 2 Miss Andretti 3 Undue 1.23.4
2005 1 Barely A Moment 2 Super Kid 3 Sky Cuddle 1.25.7
2004 1 Regal Roller 2 Our Egyptian Raine 3 Alinghi 1.24.2
2003 1 Exceed & Excel 2 Reactive 3 Titanic Jack 1.21.2
2002 1 Pernod 2 Bel Esprit 3 Royal Code 1.22.6
2001 1 Mr Murphy 2 Fubu 3 Umrum 1.23.5
2000 1 Testa Rossa 2 Camarena 3 Porto Roca 1.21.9