Silver Slipper Stakes

  • Date: Saturday February 20, 2016
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 1100m
  • Conditions: 2yo, Set Weight
  • Prize Money: $250,000

2016 Silver Slipper Stakes News

Headwater back to best with Kensington Stakes win

Headwater back to best with Kensington Stakes win

Headwater is back to his best after scoring a resounding first up win in the Listed $120,000 Kensington Stakes (1000m) at Flemington last Saturday.

Headwater, green colours, was back in the winner’s stall winning the Kensington Stakes at Flemington. Photo by Ultimate Racing Photos.

The Team Hawkes trained Headwater was having his start since a …

The 2016 Silver Slipper Stakes is one of the show piece events of the Sydney Autumn racing carnival at Rosehill Gardens every February. It is a Group 2 rated event hosted for two year olds across a trek of just 1100m.

Bet on Silver Slipper Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The horses contesting the Silver Slipper are given set weights before embarking on the quest for $250,000 in prize money.

It is the very first Group rated event for juveniles during the Sydney autumn carnival. As the name suggests it is effectively a stepping stone onto the world’s richest two year old race, the Golden Slipper.

The Golden Slipper is held the next month at the same trek with an extra 100m added to the journey.

Because of the break in between runs most horses will race again before the Group 1 in either the Group 3 Kindergarten Stakes or the Group 3 Sweet Embrace Stakes for fillies and Group 3 Skyline Stakes for colts and geldings.

The two year old schedule is pretty well laid out at the top level over the autumn with a tough horse potentially making it all the way to the Group 1 Champagne Stakes at the end of the carnival.

While the very best two year olds won’t usually all appear in the Silver Slipper there have been a handy group of winners over the years.

Triscay won way back in 1989 while Clang was champion of 1995.

Excellerator got the job done in 2001 before Domesday triumphed in 2005.

More recently the likes of Melito, Chance Bye and Satin Shoes won from 2009 through 2011.

2016 Silver Slipper Stakes Field

The 2016 Silver Slipper Stakes field will be provided below.

2016 Silver Slipper Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Silver Slipper Stakes nominations will be published here.

Silver Slipper Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Silver Slipper Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 Headwater 2 Voilier 3 Mishani Honcho 1:04.4
2014 1 Mossfun 2 Press Report 3 Risen From Doubt 1:06.2
2013 1 Sweet Idea 2 Whiskey Allround 3 Charlie Boy 1:06.3
2012 1 Pierro 2 Hussousa 3 Kyria 1:06.8
2011 1 Satin Shoes 2 Elite Falls 3 Straight Gold 1:03.4
2010 1 Chance Bye 2 Ambers Waltz 3 Zutara 1:04.2
2009 1 Melito 2 Sunday Rose 3 Onemorenomore 1:03.8
2008 1 Amelia’s Dream 2 Hips Don’t Lie 3 Glowlamp 1:02.9
2007 1 Shaft 2 Husson Lightning 3 Murtajill 1:04.0
2006 1 Plagiarize 2 Boom Time Savings 3 Five Ways 1:04.0
2005 1 Domesday 2 Flying Pegasus 3 Dr Green 1:04.0
2004 1 Ballybleue 2 Dane Shadow 3 Esther 1:04.0
2003 1 Hasna 2 Polar Success 3 Legally Bay 1:04.0
2002 1 Victory Vein 2 Chuckle 3 Air Of Grace 1:05.2
2001 1 Excellerator 2 Ha Ha 3 Donna Natalia 1:03.1
2000 1 French Braids 2 Kootoomootoo 3 King Of Danes 1:03.7