AJ Moir Stakes

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2017 Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes, previously also known as the Schweppes Stakes, is an event run at Moonee Valley Racecourse in September this year during the illustrious Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event is run under weight-for-age conditions and is worth $500,000 in prize money.

The AJ Moir Stakes is a sprint event run over a trip of 1000m. Previously run on the same day as the Group 1 Cox Plate, an event many attribute with crowning the best horse in the country, the Moir Stakes was upgraded to Group 1 level in 2013 one year after being transferred to a different meeting held in late September. The Moir Stakes now headlines a great night of racing at Moonee Valley under the lights.

The Moir Stakes has a habit of attracting a fine crop of sprinters which often go on for big success in later seasons. Young horses often do well in this event and there are a few notable form lines coming into it.

Several top line sprinters have won both the Moir Stakes and the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes run at Caulfield a week later and in an incredible period saw the double taken out back-to-back five years in a row. (Show No Emotion (1998), Magic Music (1999, Falvelon (2000), Mistegic (2001), Spinning Hill (2002))

More recently Black Caviar won both sprints in 2010 and 2011 while Queensland’s sprinting star Buffering collected the double in 2012.

The 1989 running of this race finished in dramatic circumstances with a dead heat between Clay Hero and Good Old Ted.

The Lee Freedmaan giant grey Schillaci won this event in 1992 while Sequalo recorded the quickest time for the race back in 1994.

Recent champions Apache Cat (2009) and Black Caviar (2010, 2011) have ensured the status of the event continues to rise.

2017 Moir Stakes Field

The Moir Stakes field usually attracts some very talented weight for age sprinters. Because it’s run over 1000m, the Moir Stakes field contains some talented and versatile sprinters, both from Victoria and interstate.

The 2017 Moir Stakes field is published below.


2017 Moir Stakes Nominations

The Moir Stakes nominations tend to attract a strong field of high quality sprinters that use the Moir Stakes as a springboard into the other major Group 1 sprints during the Melbourne Spring Carnival.  The Moir Stakes nominations provides a good snapshot of the current talent on the Melbourne sprinting circuit.

The 2017 Moir Stakes nominations can be seen published below.


Moir Stakes results and winning times since 2000 are below.AJ Moir Stakes Winners & Results

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Extreme Choice 2 Heatherly 3 Wild Rain 0:58.74
2015 1 Buffering 2 Ball Of Muscle 3 Angelic Light 0:57.26
2014 1 Buffering 2 Lankan Rupee 3 Rebel Dane 1:10.91
2013 1 Samaready 2 Buffering 3 Le Bonsir 1:11.25
2012 1 Buffering 2 Ready To Rip 3 Thankgodyou’rehere 1:10.97
2011 1 Black Caviar 2 Doubtful Jack 3 Here De Angels 1:10.13
2010 1 Black Caviar 2 Hot Danish 3 True Persuasion 1:11.0
2009 1 Apache Cat 2 Mic Mac 3 Bank Robber 1:10.0
2008 1 Lucky Secret 2 Bel Mer 3 Mr Baritone 1:09.9
2007 1 Miss Andretti 2 Gold Edition 3 Let Go Thommo 1:10.6
2006 1 California Dane 2 Let Go Thommo 3 Poets Voice 0:58.4
2005 1 Virage De Fortune 2 Miss Mooney Mooney 3 Imprisoned 0:59.1
2004 1 Bomber Bill 2 Regimental Gal 3 Dance The Waves 0:58.4
2003 1 Our Egyptian Raine 2 Spinning Hill 3 Dantana 0:57.7
2002 1 Spinning Hill 2 Bomber Bill 3 Mistegic 0:57.7
2001 1 Mistegic 2 Regal Shot 3 Appoint 0:58.7
2000 1 Falvelon 2 Notoire 3 Super Elegant 0:59.8