Zipping Classic (Sandown Classic)

  • Date: November 14, 2015
  • Racecourse: Sandown
  • Race Distance: 2400m
  • Conditions: Open Weight-For-Age
  • Prize Money: $350,000

2016 Zipping Classic (Sandown Classic) News

Caloundra Cup Likely for Raw Impulse

Caloundra Cup Likely for Raw Impulse

Raw Impulse was unable to justify his resounding favouritism in his black type debut last weekend, but will likely be given another chance to display his quality in a race like the Listed Caloundra Cup (2400m) on the Sunshine Coast on July 2nd.

Raw Impulse will likely contest the Listed Caloundra Cup in …

The 2015 Zipping Classic, previously known as the Sandown Classic, is a Group 2 contest run annually at Sandown Racecourse towards the middle of November.

Bet on Zipping Classic (Sandown Classic) Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

It’s one of the final races of the Melbourne spring racing carnival and is contested under weight-for-age conditions.

The Zipping Classic is a staying test over 2400m and is worth $350,000 to connections. The Zipping Classic was previously called the Sandown Cup before a name change in 1999 to the Sandown Classic. It’s is held the week after the conclusion of the Flemington Spring Racing Carnival. There is now a listed event held on the same day called the Sandown Cup.

It is the biggest meet of the year to be held at Sandown Racecourse and is on the same card as the Group 2 Sandown Guineas, Group 3 Sandown Stakes, Group 3 Eclipse Stakes, Group 3 Summoned Stakes and Group 3 Kevin Heffernan Stakes.

With the big staying contests of the Melbourne carnival over the Sandown Classic is suited to only the toughest horses which have come through that campaign with something left in the tank.

While the prize money is less than the Group 1’s earlier in the spring it’s the last logical assignment before a spell meaning any horses that can run will run in the event.

Horses can come to this event from races like the Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup, Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes or even the Melbourne Cup.

The long and slightly uphill straight further highlights the need to be a tough stayer as many a horse can be found out in the final furlong.

It’s not surprising that one of the toughest horses of the modern era has dominated this event in a way few horses have managed to do at Group 2 level.

Zipping, who the Zipping Classic is now named for, created history when winning this race on consecutive occasions in 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010. In that time he accounted for some top talent and made this event his own. In those same years he came into the race after gallant performances in the Melbourne Cup including a string of fourth place finishes. Zipping was retired due to injury in 2011 at the age of ten preventing a shot at a fifth Sandown Classic.

While the race no doubt belongs to Zipping there were some talented horses to come before him as well.

Our Pompeii won in 1994 with Aerosmith winning in 1999.

Shy Heights claimed the 2001 contest with Roman Arch triumphing in 2005.

The quickest Zipping Classic time though belongs to Brave Chief which completed the trip in 2:24.3 when winning in 2000.

2015 Zipping Classic Field

The Zipping Classic field usually attracts a fairly handy class of horse. Even though it’s held right at the end of the spring racing carnival, the Zipping Classic field still sees a few talented runners line up at the barriers.

The 2015 Zipping Classic field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 624×008421 DANDINO (GB) Darren Weir Dwayne Dunn 4 59kg 106
2 5442×75870 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller James McDonald 5 59kg 109
3 8x21x00690 SERTORIUS Jamie Edwards Craig Newitt 7 59kg 101
4 81111×8848 TALL SHIP (IRE) Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 2 59kg 97
5 130×409803 DON DOREMO (NZ) Robbie Laing Mark Zahra 3 59kg 90
6 x122x62002 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 8 57kg 109
7 6650×55503 KIRRAMOSA (NZ) John Sargent Kerrin McEvoy 6 57kg 102
8 2213x300x9 DO YOU REMEMBER (SAF) Peter G Moody Vlad Duric 1 57kg 95

2015 Zipping Classic Nominations

The Zipping Classic nominations draw a diverse range of horses from around the country. While a lot of local horses tend to enter the Zipping Classic nominations, they usually feature a few interstate raiders who were down for their spring campaign.

The 2015 Zipping Classic nominations will be provided below.

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 624×008421 DANDINO (GB) H 9 Darren Weir 1 59kg 106
2 x122x62002 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) M 5 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 2 57kg 109
3 5442×75870 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) G 7 Chris Waller 3 59kg 109
4 8x21x00690 SERTORIUS G 8 Jamie Edwards 4 59kg 101
5 416×506710 ALMOONQITH (USA) H 6 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 5 59kg 105
6 81111×8848 TALL SHIP (IRE) G 5 Darren Weir 6 59kg 97
7 31532×8444 UNGRATEFUL ELLEN M 4 Robert Smerdon 7 56kg 85
8 130×409803 DON DOREMO (NZ) G 5 Robbie Laing 8 59kg 90
9 6650×55503 KIRRAMOSA (NZ) M 5 John Sargent 9 57kg 102
10 x452x78624 SYSMO (FR) G 7 Tony McEvoy 10 59kg 92
11 2213x300x9 DO YOU REMEMBER (SAF) M 6 Peter G Moody 11 57kg 95
12 4x5421x469 MANALAPAN (IRE) G 6 Ciaron Maher 12 59kg 90
13 x0x7872447 WALES H 6 Richard Laming 13 59kg 72

Sandown Classic / Zipping Classic Results

Zipping Classic winners, place getters and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 Who Shot Thebarman 2 Tall Ship 3 Do You Remember 2:29.1
2014 1 Au Revoir 2 Epingle 3 Prince Of Penzance 2:32.1
2013 1 Sertorius 2 Epingle 3 Queenstown 2:30.97
2012 1 Tanby 2 Exceptionally 3 Precedence 2:32.0
2011 1 Americain 2 Manighar 3 Mourayan 2:37.9
2010 1 Zipping 2 Exceptionally 3 Manighar 2:39.4
2009 1 Zipping 2 Purple 3 Master O’reilly 2:32.2
2008 1 Zipping 2 Douro Valley 3 Red Ruler 2:35.0
2007 1 Zipping 2 Jukebox Johnny 3 Baughurst 2:33.7
2006 1 Gallant Guru 2 Casual Pass 3 Show Barry 2:30.8
2005 1 Roman Arch 2 Grey Song 3 Expunge 2:33.7
2004 1 Count Ricardo 2 Fantastic Love 3 Media Puzzle 2:37.9
2003 1 Legible 2 Distinctly Secret 3 Zazzman 2:29.8
2002 1 Hail 2 Hill Of Grace 3 Grey Song 2:27.9
2001 1 Sky Heights 2 King Keitel 3 Cinder Bella 2:28.3
2000 1 Brave Chief 2 Forgotten Hero 3 Pasta Express 2:24.3