Run To The Rose

  • Date: Saturday August 27, 2016
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: 3YO, Set Weight
  • Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Run To The Rose News

Mediterranean boosts his chances for Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

Mediterranean boosts his chances for Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

A new look Mediterranean has boosted his chances for the $2m Magic Millions 3yo Guineas (1400m) at the Gold Coast on January 14 with a comfortable win in a 1050m Randwick barrier trial today.

Mediterranean was a well beaten 8th behind Astern, above, in the Golden Rose at Rosehill. Photo by Steve Hart.

The Smart …

The 2016 Run To The Rose is a Group 2 event which is fast developing as a favourite little race for people across the country. It’s held in August each year at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

Bet on Run To The Rose Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

It is exclusively for three year olds across a 1200m journey with set weight conditions. They battle it out for a prize pool of $175,000 but also momentum moving through the series.

As implied by the name the Run To The Rose is a lead up event into Sydney’s richest springtime race, the $1 million Group 1 Golden Rose.

It’s held a few weeks later on the same track so it’s a perfect form race to examine with the vast majority of runners heading to the Golden Rose.

The Run To The Rose itself as well as the entire Golden Rose series is a relatively new phenomenon but already clear links have been developed between the Group 2 and the Group 1.

In 2009 Denman won the Run To The Rose before going on to claim the Golden Rose as well.

After that in 2010 Squamosa won the Run To The Rose but fell just short in the Golden Rose finishing in second spot.

For punters its one of the easiest series to follow though and given the Run To The Rose has only been around since 2003 it’s likely a strong pattern will develop over the next few years.

2016 Run to the Rose Field

The 2016 Run to the Rose field will be released on Wednesday, August 26th. The 2014 Run to the Rose field will be below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1x101x ASTERN John O’Shea James McDonald 3 58kg 88
2 2x105x GOOD STANDING James Cummings Glyn Schofield 10 58kg 84
3 11x EL DIVINO Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Hugh Bowman 1 57kg 88
4 31x256x1 STAR TURN Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 5 57kg 86
5 114x TESSERA John O’Shea Ms Kathy O’Hara 4 57kg 80
6 210×5 MANOLO BLAHNIQ (NZ) Tony Noonan Joshua Parr 2 57kg 75
7 3x1442x TELPERION John O’Shea Jason Collett 11 56kg 88
8 132x830x NIKITAS Chris Waller Tye Angland 7 56kg 79
9 55×12 MEDITERRANEAN Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 9 56kg 73
10 13x IMPENDING John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 6 56kg 72
11 6221x CELLARMAN Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 8 56kg 69
12 2231 GADFLY Paul Perry Tim Clark 12 56kg 64

2016 Run to the Rose Nominations

A number of very nice horses are set to be included in the 2015 Run to the Rose nominations.

2016 Run to the Rose nominations will be below.

Previous Run To The Rose winners include Paratroopers in 2005 and Mentality in 2006.

Run To The Rose Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Run To The Rose since 2003 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Astern 2 Star Turn 3 Impending  1:10.9
2015 1 Exosphere 2 Press Statement 3 Holler  1:10.6
2014 1 Hallowed Crown 2 Kumaon 3 Ygritte  1:12.9
2013 1 Va Pensiero 2 Dissident 3 Marseille Roulette  1:09.6
2012 1 Pierro 2 Your Song 3 Epaulette  1:09.8
2011 1 Smart Missile 2 Foxwedge 3 Helmet  1:10.5
2010 1 Squamosa 2 Masquerader 3 Testarhythm  1:18.2
2009 1 Denman 2 More Than Great 3 Bombay Sling  1:16.6
2008 1 Desuetude 2 Maybe I 3 Emperor Bonaparte  1:18.1
2007 1 El Cambio 2 Rapid Jacko 3 Turffontein  1:16.2
2006 1 Mentality 2 He’s No Pie Eater 3 Boncoeur  1:17.6
2005 1 Paratroopers 2 Pendragon (NZ) 3 Thunderbird Hill  1:16.3
2004 1 Eremein 2 Uber 3 Econsul (NZ)  1:18.3
2003 1 Gilded Youth 2 Charmview 3 Confectioner  1:16.7