Rosehill Guineas

  • Date: Saturday March 18, 2017
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 2,000m
  • Conditions: 3yo set-weights
  • Prize Money: $600,000

2016 Rosehill Guineas News

Man From Uncle warming up for G1 Guineas in Hobartville Stakes

Man From Uncle warming up for G1 Guineas in Hobartville Stakes

Man From Uncle can prove his last start win in the Eskimo Prince Stakes was no fluke with another winning performance in the Group 2 $400,000 Schweppes Hobartville Stakes (1400m) at Rosehill on Saturday.

Man From Uncle, above in blue and cerise colours, is one of the main chances in the Hobartville Stakes at Rosehill. …

The 2017 Rosehill Guineas is a Group 1 race run under set-weight conditions that is held each year a Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in March. Run by the Australian Turf Club, the Rosehill Guineas is a race for three-year-olds only and is run over a distance of 2,000 metres.

Bet on Rosehill Guineas Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The Rosehill Guineas is worth $600,000 and is run as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival on an exciting card of racing that also includes the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m), the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) and the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m).

The Rosehill Guineas was first run in 1910 when it was won by Electric Wire and was originally run as a Principal race. but was upgraded to a Group 1 event in 1980 when it was won by equine superstar Kingston Town. The Rosehill Guineas became a Group 1 race in 1980 when it was won by the champion racehorse Kingston Town.  The Rosehill Guineas was run over 1800 metres from 1915 to 1947 and has been run over 2000 metres ever since.

The Rosehill Guineas is the key lead up race to the feature three-year-old event of the Autumn Carnival; the Australian Derby (2,400m), which is held at Royal Randwick a  fortnight later. In 2013, It’s A Dundeel took out the Randwick Guineas and Rosehill Guineas before completing the Triple Crown with a win in the Australian Derby, joining horses like Eremein (2005), Octagonal (1996) and Moorland (1943) as horses that have won both the Rosehill Guineas and Randwick Guineas in the same year.

The Rosehill Guineas winners list is headlined by Phar Lap, who stamped himself as a future superstar with a win in the 1929 edition of the race, while other champions of the Australian turf like Ajax (1937), Hydrogen (1951), Eskimo Prince (1964), Dulcify (1979), Kingston Town (1980), Strawberry Road (1983), Naturalism (1992), Octagonal (1996), Tie The Knot (1999), Eremein (2005) and It’s A Dundeel (2013) have also taken out the Group 1 event.

Favourites actually have a fairly poor record in the Rosehill Guineas and the Group 1 event is often a very open betting race. Sky Chase (1988), Riverina Charm (1989), Surfers Paradise (1991), Carnegie Express (2002), Niello (2004), Jimmy Choux (2011) and It’s A Dundeel (2013) all saluted as the punter’s elect, while Ring Joe (1987), Star Of Maple (1994), Diatribe (2000), Sale Of Century (2001) and De Beers (2006) won the race at lengthy odds.

Rosehill Guineas Field

The Rosehill Guineas field features the best three-year-olds colts and geldings from right around Australia and can be run with a capacity field of 18 runners. The number of runners that make up the Randwick Guineas field changes every year as champions like It’s A Dundeel and Niello often dominate the lead-up to the race and scare away a number of their potential rivals. The ballot for the Rosehill Guineas field is done on total prizemoney and the winner of the race receives ballot exempt entry into the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m). The Rosehill Guineas was one of the few races during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival that did not receive a prizemoney upgrade in 2014, but the race is still expected to draw a very strong field.

2017 Rosehill Guineas Field

The 2017 Rosehill Guineas field and barrier draw will be released on the Wednesday prior to the race.

2017 Rosehill Guineas Nominations & Weights

As soon as they are available, the 2017 Rosehill Guineas nominations will be published here.

Rosehill Guineas Winners & Results

Recent winners and results (since the year 2000) for the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Tarzino 2 Montaigne 3 Jameka 2:03.56
2015 1 Volkstok’n’barrell 2 Preferment 3 Hallowed Crown  2:03.47
2014 1 Criterion 2 Thunder Fantasy 3 Teronado  2:05.94
2013 1 It’s A Dundeel 2 Sacred Falls 3 Tatra  2:02.25
2012 1 Laser Hawk 2 Ocean Park 3 Silent Achiever  2:02.1
2011 1 Jimmy Choux 2 Retrieve 3 Shamrocker  2:05.3
2010 1 Zabrasive 2 Rock Classic 3 Run For Naara  2:04.5
2009 1 Metal Bender 2 Sousa 3 Rock Kingdom  2:03.2
2008 1 Dealer Principal 2 Kingda Ka 3 Littorio  2:04.5
2007 1 He’s No Pie Eater 2 Ambitious General 3 Flumicino  2:02.7
2006 1 De Beers 2 Oh Oklahoma 3 Primus  2:03.5
2005 1 Eremein 2 Nevis 3 Outback Prince  2:01.3
2004 1 Niello 2 Grand Zulu 3 Elvstroem  2:01.1
2003 1 Helenus 2 Mummify 3 Sunday Joy  2:02.7
2002 1 Carnegie Express 2 Don Eduardo 3 Pentastic  2:00.8
2001 1 Sale Of Century 2 Danamite 3 Scenic Warrior  2:01.0
2000 1 Diatribe 2 Freemason 3 Crawl  2:04.3