Blazer Stakes

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2015 Blazer Stakes (previously the Rose of Kingston Stakes) is a Group 2 event run at the start of October each year at Flemington Racecourse during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. It is a race specifically for mares and run under set weight conditions.

The Blazer Stakes is contested across a 1400m journey and is worth $200,000 in prize money to the winners. It is run on the same day as the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes and has been previously known as the Honda Prelude, Hardy Brothers Prelude, Jayco Stakes and the Rose of Kingston Stakes.

Being so early in the Spring Carnival many of the mares may go into the Blazer Stakes first up from a spell or from September races like the Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes. This means the event can often be tough for punters but nevertheless is always exciting to watch.

From this race mares have options on some of the biggest race days of the spring carnival. They could run on Caulfield Cup Day in the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes or on Victoria Derby Day in the Group 1 Myer Classic.

There have been some quality mares compete in the Blazer Stakes over the decades as shown by the consistently quick times.

The best of them belong to 2004 winner Skewiff and 2009 winner Cats Whisker with 1:22.4.

Other impressive efforts have come from Chlorophyll in 1996, Sky Cuddle in 2005 and recent winner Palacio De Cristal in 2010.

2015 Blazer Stakes Field

The Blazer Stakes field is customarily comprised of more experienced mares who have raced extensively at group level. Because it is run under set weights plus penalties conditions, the Blazer Stakes field is usually dominated by the genuinely talented runners.

The 2015 Blazer Stakes field will be published here on Wednesday, September 30th.

2015 Blazer Stakes Nominations

Each year, a number of proven mares enter the Blazer Stakes nominations. The Blazer Stakes nominations traditionally list some top quality mares who have all taken out quite a few places at group level. The 2015 Blazer Stakes nominations will be uploaded here on Monday, September 28th.

Blazer Stakes Results

Blazer Stakes winners and placegetters since 2000 with winning times are provided below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 La Passe 2 Manageress 3 Lucky Lago & Jessy Belle 1:22.9
2014 1 Forever Loved 2 Enquare 3 May’s Dream 1:24.8
2013 1 Fire Up Fifi 2 Peron 3 Catkins 1:23.8
2012 1 Mosheen 2 Bonaria 3 Miss Stellabelle 1:23.5
2011 1 Lady Lynette 2 Booklet 3 Dysphonia 1:24.1
2010 1 Palacio De Cristal 2 No Evidence Needed 3 Strawberry Field 1:23.9
2009 1 Cats Whisker 2 Gold Water 3 Dane Julia 1:22.4
2008 1 Bellini Rose 2 Absolute Glam 3 Viking Turf Belle 1:24.1
2007 1 Vormista 2 Bellini Rose 3 El Pauji 1:23.9
2006 1 Divine Madonna 2 Imana 3 Open Cut 1:23.3
2005 1 Sky Cuddle 2 Dea 3 Astrodame 1:23.5
2004 1 Skewiff 2 Infinite Grace 3 Light Sweeper 1:22.4
2003 1 Vocabulary 2 Gazania 3 Galipagos Girl 1:24.1
2002 1 Hosannah 2 Gentle Genius 3 Purple Groove 1:23.8
2001 1 Tickle My 2 Hula Wonder 3 Calm Smytzer 1:25.7
2000 1 Ramano’s Star 2 Fellowship 3 Bumbelina 1:23.7