Robert Sangster Stakes (Sportingbet Classic)

  • Date: Saturday April 26, 2014
  • Racecourse: Morphettville
  • Race Distance: 1,200m
  • Conditions: F&M Weight For Age
  • Prize Money: $350,000

2014 Robert Sangster Stakes (Sportingbet Classic) News

Newitt To Ride Lankan Rupee In T.J. Smith Stakes

Newitt To Ride Lankan Rupee In T.J. Smith Stakes

Leading jockey Craig Newitt will ride Lankan Rupee in the 2014 T.J. Smith Stakes at Royal Randwick on April 12 after connections decided against running classy mare Samaready in the Group 1 event.

Newitt was set to continue his partnership with Samaready in the T.J. Smith Stakes, but owners Vinery Stud made the decision to send…

The 2014 Robert Sangster Stakes, also called the Sportingbet Classic, is a Group 1 race that is held at Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide in April each year. The Robert Sangster Stakes is worth $350,000 and is open to fillies and mares only. Run under weight-for-age conditions, the Robert Sangster Stakes is run over a distance of 1,200 metres. The Robert Sangster Stakes takes place on the same day as the Group 1 Australasian Oaks and the Group 3 The Janz.

Bet on: Robert Sangster Stakes (Sportingbet Classic)
$250 Bonus Bet from

The first Robert Sangster Stakes was run in 1983 when it was won by a horse named Ranee’s Place. In 1983 the Robert Sangster Stakes was known as a Special Race and became a Listed race the year after. The Robert Sangster Stakes became a Group 3 in 1986 before it was elevated to Group 2 status in 2004. The race spent just one year as a Group 2 race before it was given Group 1 status in 2005. From 1983-2004 the Robert Sangster Stakes was known as the Swettenham Stud Stakes, but was named after the prolific owner and breeder Robert Sangster after he died in 2004. Robert Sangster was the principal of Swettenham Stud and the race was re-named to pay tribute to his contribution to the racing industry.

Horses that run in the Robert Sangster Stakes have often had successful autumn campaigns in Melbourne and Sydney. Runners that are successful in the Robert Sangster Stakes often go on to run in the Group 2 Queen Of The South Stakes later in the month.

Notable horses that have won the Robert Sangster Stakes include Suzy Grey (2002), Alinghi (2005) Bel Mer (2009) and Response (2011).

Winners & Past Results

Here you will find a list of winners and results for the Robert Sangster Stakes since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2012 1 Black Caviar 2 Sistine Angel 3 Power Princess  1:10.6
2011 1 Response 2 Beaded 3 Miss Octopussy  1:09.0
2010 1 Rostova 2 Velocitea 3 Sister Madly  1:09.4
2009 1 Bel Mer 2 Hidden Energy 3 Impressive Eagle  1:09.5
2008 1 Juste Momente 2 Zipanese 3 Serious Speed  1:09.7
2007 1 Universal Queen 2 Media 3 Flying Object  1:08.3
2006 1 Ellicorsam 2 Social Glow 3 Truly Wicked  1:09.7
2005 1 Alinghi 2 Glamour Puss 3 Solar Antiquity  1:08.7
2004 1 French Bid 2 Fly For Me 3 Social Glow  1:09.0
2003 1 Our Egyptian Raine 2 Brief Embrace 3 Dama De Noche  1:08.7
2002 1 Suzy Grey 2 Regal Kiss 3 Lady Belvedere  1:13.2
2001 1 Umaline 2 Fayrouz 3 Crixia  1:08.1
2000 1 Rain Dance Lady 2 Tapalinga 3 Daninkling  1:09.1