Ranvet Stakes

  • Date: Saturday March 18, 2017
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 2,000m
  • Conditions: Weight For Age
  • Prize Money: $700,000

2016 Ranvet Stakes News

Doyle Plans to be back for Astern in The Galaxy

Doyle Plans to be back for Astern in The Galaxy

Injured jockey James Doyle plans to be back in the saddle to ride glamour colt Astern in the Group 1 $700,000 The Galaxy (1100m) at Rosehill on Golden Slipper Day March 18.

Injured jockey James Doyle, above winning on Veranillo in the Hinchinbrook Stakes at Randwick, plans to be back in the saddle on Golden …

The 2017 Ranvet Stakes is a Group 1 race that is run at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in March each year. Run under weight-for-age conditions, the Ranvet Stakes is contested over a distance of 2,000 metres and is worth $700,000 in prize money. Horses that win the Ranvet Stakes gain automatic entry into the Group 1 The BMW, with the Ranvet Stakes exempt from the ballot for the feature race.

Bet on Ranvet Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The Ranvet Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes, Group 1 George Ryder Stakes, Group 1 Rosehill Guineas and Group 1 The Galaxy.

The first Ranvet Stakes was run in 1903 when it was won by a horse named Great Scot. The race began as a nine furlong race (1800m) and decreased in distance again in 1963 to 7 furlongs and 110 yards (1500m). In 1973 the race was increased to 1,750 metres to coincide with the introduction of the metric system into Australia. The Ranvet Stakes was altered to today’s distance of 2,000 metres in 1979, but was run over 1,900 metres for one year in 2008 when it was held at Canterbury Racecourse. The Ranvet Stakes was initially a Principal race, but was given Group 1 status in 1980.

Horses that run in the Ranvet Stakes have often come via races such as the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes. Tie The Knot (2000-01),Grand Armee (2005) and Theseo (2010) have all completed the Chipping Norton Stakes and Ranvet Stakes double. The winner of the Ranvet Stakes often goes on to contest The BMW at the same venue a fortnight later and in recent years both Eremein (2006) and Tuesday Joy (2008) have completed the Ranvet Stakes and The BMW double.

Notable horses to have won the Ranvet Stakes include Poseidon (1908), Nightmarch (1930), Peter Pan (1935), Tulloch (1958), Wenona Girl (1961, 64), Sky High (1962-63), Gunsynd (1971, 73), Better Loosen Up (1990), Super Impose (1991) and Zavite (2011).

The Ranvet Stakes was one of the number of events during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival that received a prize money upgrade in 2014 and the race is now worth $700,000.

Ranvet Stakes Field

The Ranvet Stakes field is generally packed full of quality as the race is the first major weight-for-age event that is contested over 2000 metres during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The 2016 Ranvet Stakes is set to be a key lead-up race for the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, which is now worth a staggering $4 million.

2017 Ranvet Stakes Field

The 2017 Ranvet Stakes field is published here.

2017 Ranvet Stakes Nominations

Ranvet Stakes Form

Ranvet Stakes form can be very tough to analyse as there are normally horses coming from a wide variety of form lines in the Group 1 event. The Chipping Norton Stakes is generally considered the major lead-up race to the Ranvet Stakes, but in recent years the Australian Cup has developed into one of the key form guides for the race. Sound Action (2004) Theseo (2009), Manighar (2012) and Foreteller (2013) all had their final starts before winning the Ranvet Stakes in the Australian Cup.

Past Ranvet Stakes Winners & Results

Below you will find a list of winners and results for the Ranvet Stakes since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 The United States 2 Hauraki 3 Criterion 2:03.1
2015 1 Contributer 2 Tosen Stardom 3 Lucia Valentina 2:03.1
2014 1 Silent Achiever 2 Carlton House 3 It’s A Dundeel 2:02.3
2013 1 Foreteller 2 Fiveandahalfstar 3 Maluckyday 2:01.5
2012 1 Manighar 2 Rangirangdoo 3 Shoot Out 2:04.7
2011 1 Zavite 2 Descarado 3 Hawk Island 2:05.5
2010 1 Theseo 2 Rangirangdoo 3 Speed Gifted 2:02.3
2009 1 Theseo 2 Viewed 3 Moatize 2:04.4
2008 1 Tuesday Joy 2 Princess Coup 3 Desert War 1:55.4
2007 1 Desert War 2 Confectioner 3 Rallings 2:01.9
2006 1 Eremein 2 Our Smoking Joe 3 Desert War 2:05.9
2005 1 Grand Armee 2 Vouvray 3 Hugs Dancer 2:00.9
2004 1 Sound Action 2 Ambulance 3 Makybe Diva 2:03.2
2003 1 Republic Lass 2 Northerly 3 Freemason 2:01.0
2002 1 Universal Prince 2 Dress Circle 3 Freemason 2:05.0
2001 1 Tie The Knot 2 Hill Of Grace 3 Giovana 2:02.9
2000 1 Tie The Knot 2 Arena 3 Showella 2:05.9