Premiere Stakes

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2017 Premiere Stakes is a Group 2 race held in Sydney as part of the Spring Carnival at [cf “racecourse”] Racecourse. A sprint over 1200m, the Premiere Stakes is worth [cf “prize_money”] and run under weight-for-age conditions.

The race was previously held in early August, and then on Gloaming Stakes Day, but moved to Epsom Handicap Day to complement a bumper all black-type race program. The date change has altered the usual lead up events that were usually associated with the Premiere Stakes but races such as the Group 3 Missile Stakes or Group 2 Warwick Stakes should attract a similar pool of horses.

The Premiere Stakes shares a race program with five other group events, the Group 1 Epsom Handicap, Group 1 The Metropolitan, Group 1 Flight Stakes, Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes and Group 3 Craven Plate.

Some excellent horses have competed in the Premiere Stakes and the date change should only add to the popularity of the event.

Kingston Town has to be one of the best ever champions of the Premiere Stakes when he won back in 1981.

Emancipation claimed the 1983 event while Joanne went back to back in 1991 / 1992.

Mr. Innocent was the next to claim two in a row with wins in 1999 and 2000.

More recently Triple Honour was crowned 2008 champion and in 2009 there was an unprecedented dead heat with Mentality and Kroner.

2010 champion Hot Danish captivated the crowds with a victory in what ultimately proved to be her final season before contracting a lethal leg infection.

2017 Premiere Stakes Field

The Premiere Stakes field customarily contains a number of top runners. The Premiere Stakes field is a target for plenty of weight-for-age sprinters and forms an integral part of the spring campaign for many horses. The 2016 Premiere Stakes field was released on Wednesday, September 27th and published below.

2017 Premiere Stakes Nominations

The Premiere Stakes nominations usually list a fair number of talented sprinters. A lot of decent horses enter the Premiere Stakes nominations in an endeavour to get in a 1200m race against solid competition. The 2016 Premiere Stakes nominations will be released on Monday, September 27th and published here.

Premiere Stakes Results

Premiere Stakes winners and placegetters since 2000 with winning times are listed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2015 1 Terravista 2 Rebel Dane 3 That’s A Good Idea 1:09.1
2014 1 Famous Seamus 2 Charlie Boy 3 Wouldn’t It Be Nice 1:09.9
2013 1 Arinosa 2 Dystopia 3 Famous Seamus 1:09.4
2012 1 Red Tracer 2 Satin Shoes 3 Emotional Circus 1:09.7
2011 1 Neeson 2 Hurtle Myrtle 3 Love Conquers All 1:10.2
2010 1 Hot Danish 2 Trader 3 Cardinal Virtue 1:09.8
2009 1 =1 Mentality 2 =1 Kroner 3 Phelan Ready 1:10.4
2008 1 Triple Honour 2 Captain Bax 3 Reigning to Win 1:10.1
2007 1 German Chocolate 2 Solo Flyer 3 Fashions Afield 1:09.9
2006 1 Paratroopers 2 Imana 3 Johan’S Toy 1:10.3
2005 1 Shania Dane 2 Dance Hero 3 Spark Of Life 1:08.8
2004 1 Spark Of Life 2 Into The Night 3 Century Kid 1:09.8
2003 1 Thorn Park 2 Patezza 3 Excellerator 1:09.0
2002 1 Century Kid 2 Ancient Song 3 Shogun Lodge 1:09.4
2001 1 On Type 2 Padstow 3 Century Kid 1:10.3
2000 1 Mr. Innocent 2 Celestial Choir 3 Adam 1:09.0