Perth Cup

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2016 Perth Cup is the jewel in the crown of racing in Western Australia and one of the most popular social events. It’s undoubtedly the feature event on the Perth calendar and the climax of the Perth summer racing carnival.

The Perth Cup is a Group 2 rated event raced under open handicap conditions. It is run across a trek of 2400m with [cf prize_money] in prize money on offer. The event was originally run across the traditional two mile cup’s distance but like a lot of towns and cities across Australia this was dropped back to try and entice a bigger field. The shift from 3200m to the current 2400m first occurred in 2009.

The Perth Cup is held on January 2nd this year whereas during the 2011/2012 racing season the Perth Cup was held on New Year’s Eve. This means that there was no Perth Cup run in 2012.

The Perth Cup gives the West a chance to start the calendar year of racing in style and at the same time put on an outstanding show for the locals. More than 16,000 people passed through the Ascot gates in 2015 to experience a mix of both on track and off track entertainment.

The history of the Perth Cup dates back to 1887 making it one of the oldest events still in action anywhere in Australia.

Ascot is well known for its long 400m straight which rises on an uphill slope. This means while the distance may be 2400m in reality it takes a horse a lot stronger than that to run it out at full steam.

Because of this the locals have an advantage having been trained there with the occasional well performed Eastern raider coming across to take them on.

The perfect lead up race to the Perth cup is the Group 2 CB Cox Stakes held just two weeks earlier over the slightly shorter 2100m distance. It has always been a solid form guide for the race but after the distance change in 2009 this is set to become even more prominent.

That was shown immediately when Lords Ransom won the 2009 CB Cox Stakes before winning the Perth Cup two weeks later.

Other horses to complete the double while it was still a two mile race include Cats Fun in 2008, Palatious in 1994, Mirror Magic in 1992 and Saratov in 1989.

There have been plenty of champions over the years in the Perth Cup with a very strong winners list assembled.

Mirror Magic won in 1992 and Field Officer in 1993, both times ahead of the luckless Red Javelin.

Big name Rogan Josh had similar anguish in 1999 when he was brought down by King Of Saxony.

More recently Guyno won in 2009 and came close again two years later when he finished second to Guest Wing.

2016 Perth Cup Field

The final Perth Cup field is usually released a few days prior to the race itself. Because it’s such a major feature race in the Perth Summer Racing Carnival, the Perth Cup field attracts some very decent horses and some pretty hefty punting action.

The 2016 Perth Cup field is displayed below.

2016 Perth Cup Nominations

The Perth Cup nominations regularly draw some of the top local talent. Quite often, a few eastern horses will enter the Perth Cup nominations either as part of an extended campaign in Western Australia or simply as a test leading up to the Autumn Carnival back east.

The 2016 Perth Cup nominations are published here.

Perth Cup Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Perth Cup since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Delicacy 2 Neverland 3 Real Love 2:30.0
2015 1 Real Love 2 Red Blast 3 Kirov Boy 2:29.9
2014 1 Black Tycoon 2 God Has Spoken 3 Ask Me Nicely 2:31.3
2013 1 Talent Show 2 Mr Moet 3 Global Flirt 2:29.8
2011# 1 Western Jewel 2 God Has Spoken 3 Senhor Da Gama 2:28.2
2011* 1 Guest Wing 2 Guyno 3 Simply Adorable 2:27.5
2010 1 Lords Ransom 2 Ma Chienne 3 Largo Lad 2:30.6
2009 1 Guyno 2 The Fuzz 3 Ballack 2:25.9
2008 1 Cats Fun 2 Exhilerating 3 Westerly Breeze 3:21.6
2007 1 Respect 2 Bay Story 3 Rossam 3:21.0
2006 1 Black Tom 2 Master Minx 3 Early Express 3:18.8
2005 1 Crown Prosecutor 2 Free At Last 3 Black Tom 3:21.4
2004 1 King Canute 2 Indigo King 3 Higgins Gold 3:23.7
2003 1 Tumeric 2 So Canny 3 Bold Mirage 3:23.0
2002 1 Cardinal Colours 2 Give Me A Chance 3 Shoeless 3:25.9
2001 1 Lottila Bay 2 Moonrise 3 King Brian 3:25.6
2000 1 Lunar Tudor 2 Victory Morn 3 Matriculate 3:21.0

# Race held on December 31 2011.
* Race held on January 1 2011.