Pago Pago Stakes

  • Date: Saturday March 12, 2016
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: 2yo, Colts & Geldings, Set Weight
  • Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Pago Pago Stakes News

Extra distance will suit Souchez in the BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes

Extra distance will suit Souchez in the BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes

Godolphin’s smart two year old Souchez will be suited by the extra distance will he steps up to the 1350m of the Group 2 $250,000 Mitavite BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes at Doomben on Saturday.

Souchez, above, will appreciate the extra distance of the BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes at Doomben. Photo by Steve Hart.

Souchez was …

The 2016 Pago Pago Stakes is a Group 2 contest bringing together the best two year old talent from the colts and geldings ranks. The event is held annually at the end of March at Rosehill during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Bet on Pago Pago Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The race is contested over a trip of 1200m under set weight conditions and pays out $175,000 in prize money.

The Pago Pago Stakes takes on even extra importance as well with the winner gaining a ballot exemption for the Golden Slipper a week later.

The race can often be a desperate and hard fought affair with trainers and jockeys having one last shot at getting their horse into the Golden Slipper field.

This guarantees fantastic racing and is a must watch for punters with a view ahead to the Golden Slipper.

Stratum is the latest horse to have claimed a Pago Pago Stakes / Golden Slipper double with his wins in 2005.

The Pago Pago Stakes is held on Rosehill Guineas Day at Rosehill, one of the biggest days on the entire calendar.

Previous winners of the event include Strategic in 1995, Shogun Lodge in 1999, Tickets in 2009 and recently Salade in 2011.

2015 Pago Pago Stakes Field

Nominations for the Pago Pago Stakes are usually released on the Monday prior to the race, alongside the nominations for most other events held on the day.

The Pago Pago Stakes field is usually announced on the Wednesday, allowing punters a solid chance to get into the form guide prior to the race itself.

Because it’s a major event for top quality two year old colts and geldings, the Pago Pago Stakes field often features some of the best rising talent in the country.

The 2016 Pago Pago Stakes field is below.

Pago Pago Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Pago Pago Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2016 1 Souchez 2 Chimboraa 3 Mount Panorama  1:10.4
2015 1 Tarquin 2 Rageese 3 Odyssey Moon  1:11.5
2014 1 Time For War 2 Kumaon 3 Klammer  1:12.8
2013 1 Sidestep 2 Dothraki 3 Fuerza  1:10.5
2012 1 All Too Hard 2 Narcissus 3 Limes  1:11.2
2011 1 Salade 2 Boys On Tour 3 Exceed And Exalt  1:11.5
2010 1 Brightexpectations 2 Blackball 3 Hinchinbrook  1:10.8
2009 1 Tickets 2 New Day Rising 3 Stryker  1:11.2
2008 1 Sidereus 2 Over The Wicket 3 Dubai To Sydney  1:11.9
2007 1 Deferential 2 Cecconi 3 Acey Ducey  1:10.5
2006 1 Tarleton 2 Empires Choice 3 Rubric  1:10.6
2005 1 Stratum 2 Power Of Destiny 3 Seidnazar  1:09.2
2004 1 Genius And Evil 2 Fastnet Rock 3 High Priority  1:10.1
2003 1 Danbird 2 Hipwell 3 Winestock  1:10.2
2002 1 Planchet 2 Choisir 3 Strictly Smart  1:09.9
2001 1 Red Hannigan 2 Dash For Cash 3 Shags  1:09.9
2000 1 De France 2 Ombra Della Sera 3 Veteran  1:11.5