Newmarket Handicap

  • Date: Saturday March 7, 2015
  • Racecourse: Flemington
  • Race Distance: 1,200m
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Prize Money: $1 million

2014 Newmarket Handicap News

Chad Schofield eyeing off a return to the saddle in August

Chad Schofield eyeing off a return to the saddle in August

Outstanding young rider Chad Schofield looks set to be cleared to ride in the up-coming Spring Carnival after x-ray’s confirmed his neck injury has healed.

Schofield was one of three riders who fell at Cranbourne on June 8 and was transferred to Melbourne’s Alfred Hospital where doctors diagnosed the young jockey with a C3 vertabra fracture…

The 2015 Newmarket Handicap is a Group One sprint race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It is the premier sprint race in Australia and is worth over $1 million in prize money. Run over a distance of 1,200 metres, it was first run in 1874 over a distance of six furlongs before switching to the metric system in 1973.The Newmarket Handicap has been run on Flemington’s famous 1,200 metre straight every year except 2007, when it was run at Caulfield Racecourse due to a major reconstruction of Flemington.

Bet on: Newmarket Handicap
$250 Bonus Bet from

The Newmarket Handicap is an open handicap, and attracts the some of the best horses in the country. Lead up races to watch for the Newmarket Handicap include the Lightning Stakes (1100m), Australia Stakes (1200m) and the Oakleigh Plate (1100m).

The Newmarket Handicap is the only race apart from the Melbourne Cup that is allowed 24 starters. The race is held on the second weekend of March each year and features as part of Flemington’s Super Saturday of racing. The Newmarket Handicap shares the day with six other Group races, including the Group 1 Australian Cup.

Some impressive winners of the Newmarket Handicap include, Heroic (1926), Baguette (1971), Exceed and Excel (2004), Takeover Target (2006), Scenic Hussler (2008) and Wanted (2010).

Horses that have won the Newmarket Handicap more than once include Aspen (1880-81), Gothic (1927-28), Correct (1960-61) and Razor Sharp (1982-83). The fastest running of the Newmarket Handicap was 1 minute and 7.6 seconds by Miss Pennymoney in 2000, while the slowest time was run by Special in 1988 with 1 minute and 11.2 seconds.

Newmarket Handicap Winners & Results

The Newmarket Handicap has been host to a number of high quality sprinters, including Black Caviar who won her 10th race in a row at the 2011 Newmarket Handicap. The table below shows the winners and results since the year 2000 for the Newmarket Handicap.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 Lankan Rupee 2 Spirit Of Boom 3 Knoydart  1:09.3
2013 1 Shamexpress 2 Moment Of Change 3 Aeronautical  1:08.2
2012 1 Haylist 2 Buffering 3 Foxwedge  1:18.7
2011 1 Black Caviar 2 Crystal Lily 3 Beaded  1:07.3
2010 1 Wanted 2 Eagle Falls 3 Starspangledbanner  1:10.1
2009 1 Scenic Blast 2 Swiss Ace 3 Aichi  1:08.7
2008 1 Weekend Hussler 2 Magnus 3 Grand Duels  1:08.9
2007 1 Miss Andretti 2 Gold Edition 3 Undue  1:07.7
2006 1 Takeover Target 2 Snitzel 3 Stratum  1:08.3
2005 1 Alinghi 2 Fastnet Rock 3 Foreplay  1:08.1
2004 1 Exceed And Excel 2 Titanic Jack 3 Regimental Gal  1:08.7
2003 1 Belle Du Jour 2 Bel Espirit 3 Super Impressive  1:08.6
2002 1 Rubitano 2 North Boy 3 Mistegic  1:09.0
2001 1 Toledo 2 Show A Heart 3 Mannington  1:08.6
2000 1 Miss Pennymoney 2 Black Bean 3 Falvelon  1:07.6