Myer Classic

  • Date: Saturday October 29, 2016
  • Racecourse: Flemington
  • Race Distance: 1,600m
  • Conditions: 3YO+ Fillies & Mares WFA
  • Prize Money: $500,000

2016 Myer Classic News

I Am A Star freshened up for Robert Sangster Stakes

I Am A Star freshened up for Robert Sangster Stakes

Victorian filly I Am A Star has freshened up nicely as she prepares to take on the older mares in the Group 1 $1m Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m) at Morphettville on Saturday.

Victorian filly I Am A Star, above, will take on the older mares in the Robert Sangster Stakes at Morphettville. Photo by Ultimate …

The 2016 Myer Classic is a Group 1 fillies and mares race that is held at Flemington Racecourse in late October or early November each year.

Bet on Myer Classic Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

The race is held as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is run on the first day of the four day Melbourne Cup Carnival. Run over a distance of 1,600 metres, the Myer Classic is held under weight-for-age conditions and is worth $500,000 in prize money.

2016 Myer Classic Results

  • 1st: I Am A Star
  • 2nd: French Emotion
  • 3rd: Denmagic

The Myer Classic is held on the same day as three other Group 1 races, the Victoria Derby, the Longines Mile and the Coolmore Stud Stakes and is regarded by many as the best day’s racing on the Victorian Racing Calendar.

The Myer Classic has had a reasonably short history, with the first race being run in 1988 when it was won by Concordance. The race was initially held as a Listed race until 1995 when it became a Group 3 race. The Myer Classic was elevated to Group 2 status in 1997 and eventually was rewarded with its Group 1 status in 2004.

Throughout the running of the Myer Classic the race has had a total of six different names, including The Honda Legend, Hong Kong Bank Stakes and Nestle Peters Classic. The race became known as the Myer Classic after being sponsored by Myer in 2005.

Horses that run in the Myer Classic often come via avenues such as the Group 2 Blazer Stakes or the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes earlier in the carnival.

The Myer Classic has continually produced high quality winners including Natural Wonder (1990), Miss Zoe (2002), Lotteria (2005), Divine Madonna (2007) and in more more recent years the Peter Moody trained Horse Of The Year  Typhoon Tracy (2009), the very popular Red Tracer (2013) from the Chris Waller stable and the well deserved winner Politeness (2015) prepared by noted Caulfield trainer Robert Smerdon.

No horse has won the Myer Classic on more than one occasion.

2016 Myer Classic Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 063540×274 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damian Lane 14 57kg 107
2 26x1240x51 FIRST SEAL John P Thompson Blake Shinn 1 57kg 110
3 49x2515x05 ZANBAGH John P Thompson Mark Zahra 5 57kg 100
4 2311118×35 DANISH TWIST Kris Lees Joao Moreira 8 57kg 104
5 31122×4167 HEAVENS ABOVE Tim Martin Tye Angland 15 57kg 103
6 1220×67216 FRENCH EMOTION Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 57kg 94
7 3x1210x511 DON’T DOUBT MAMMA Tony McEvoy Dwayne Dunn 13 56.5kg 105
8 x70331x574 SERENE MAJESTY Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 9 56.5kg 89
9 64027×1033 PEARLS John O’Shea James McDonald 12 56.5kg 97
10 11422×2021 DIXIE BLOSSOMS Ron Quinton Tim Clark 4 56.5kg 98
11 395262×444 DENMAGIC David Pfieffer Tommy Berry 6 56.5kg 88
12 13x12x21 EURO ANGEL (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Zac Purton 11 56.5kg 95
13 4x150x722 PURE PRIDE (NZ) Murray Johnson Craig Williams 7 56.5kg 78
14 1x1111x273 WHISPERING BROOK Simon A Miller Chris Parnham 2 49kg 92
15 611×15423 I AM A STAR (NZ) Shane Nichols Dean Yendall 10 49kg 94

The Myer Classic field is limited to 16 horses and 4 emergency runners. The usual type of horse to enter the Myer Classic field is a fairly well-rounded mare who has had plenty of black type experience around the 1600m mark. Or, you might find some particularly talented three year old fillies lining up in the Myer Classic field on the back of a successful spring campaign.

2016 Myer Classic Nominations

Myer Classic nominations draw horses from stables around the entire country. As a major Group 1 feature event for fillies and mares, the Myer Classic nominations attract a decent amount of top quality contenders. The Myer Classic nominations fairly accurately reflect the overall quality of the current crop of fillies and mares on the racing circuit.

Myer Classic Results

Below you will find a list of Myer Classic winners, place getters and winning times since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 I Am A Star 2 French Emotion 3 Denmagic 1:35.56
2015 1 Politeness 2 Fenway 3 Azkadellia 1:37.75
2014 1 Bonaria 2 Sweet Idea 3 Catkins 1:36.55
2013 1 Red Tracer 2 Catkins 3 Fire Up Fifi 1:36.45
2012 1 Appearance 2 Soft Sand 3 Secret Admirer 1:34.97
2011 1 Hurtle Myrtle 2 Sacred Choice 3 Dysphonia 1:37.5
2010 1 Sacred Choice 2 Typhoon Tracy 3 Hot Danish 1:38.9
2009 1 Typhoon Tracy 2 Lady Lynette 3 Zarita 1:35.3
2008 1 Forensics 2 Absolutely Fabulous 3 Mimi Lebrock 1:35.9
2007 1 Divine Madonna 2 Translate 3 Red for Lou 1:36.1
2006 1 Lyrical Bid 2 Sea Change 3 Kosi Bay 1:37.6
2005 1 Lotteria 2 Miss Potential 3 Shania Dane 1:35.4
2004 1 Miss Potential 2 Alinghi 3 Infinite Grace 1:37.5
2003 1 Zanna 2 Infinite Grace 3 Mrs Tendulkar 1:38.4
2002 1 Miss Zoe 2 Purple Groove 3 Ramanos Star 1:35.8
2001 1 Market Price 2 Pernod 3 Calm Smytzer 1:34.2
2000 1 Super Sequel 2 Its Platonic 3 Nova Claus 1:37.8