Moonee Valley Cup

The 2017 Moonee Valley Cup is a Group 2 event run at Moonee Valley Racecourse in October every year during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Contested over a distance of 2500m it’s a test for any horse with a quarter of a million in prize money on offer to the winners.

The race has previously been known as the Cathay Pacific Airways Cup and is traditionally run on the card of the biggest race day of the year at the track, Group 1 Cox Plate Day.

The Moonee Valley Gold Cup is the biggest staying test held at Moonee Valley Racecourse and given the timing of the event more than a few top class horses have contested the event even though the prize money may not be as generous as some other events.

As with most long distance events there’s no specific lead up with horses usually running a race over a shorter trip and then stepping up gradually.

The Moonee Valley Cup has produced some Melbourne Cup runners over the years but it’s not a good race to use when trying to find the winner.

Kingston Rule back in 1990 was the last horse to complete the Moonee Valley Cup / Melbourne Cup double with more recent notable efforts going to Mr Prudent (2002) which placed in both events and Brew which ran second at Moonee Valley in 2000 before winning the Melbourne Cup.

As you can see a bit of talent has appeared in this race over the years with Kingston Rule (1990), Yippyio (2000) and Zipping (2006) the pick of the bunch.

Following Zipping’s 2006 victory he went on to run fourth in three Melbourne Cups.

2017 Moonee Valley Cup Field

The Moonee Valley Cup field is usually comprised of stayers with extensive black-type experience over distances greater than 2000m. It’s unusual to find a horse in the Moonee Valley Cup field who doesn’t have a legitimate chance at the win, because most runners are fairly well proven.

The 2017 Moonee Valley Cup field is published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1113×55021 BIG DUKE (IRE) Darren Weir Brenton Avdulla 1 57kg 108
2 8746Px6165 LIBRAN (IRE) Chris Waller Damien Oliver 7 57kg 107
3 5008641212 AUVRAY (FR) Richard Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 6 56kg 102
4 25223×5416 COOL CHAP David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Mark Zahra 2 56kg 97
5 x3642x9449 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller Blake Shinn 3 55kg 107
6 x97860x049 PENTATHLON (NZ) John Wheeler Jye McNeil 5 55kg 93
7 2×23252103 CISMONTANE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Stephen Baster 4 55kg 90

2017 Moonee Valley Cup Nominations

The Moonee Valley Cup nominations are released on the Monday prior to the race. The Moonee Valley Cup nominations tend to attract around twice as many horses as the final field admits, and you’ll usually find some top talents amongst it.

The 2017 Moonee Valley Cup nominations are published below.

Moonee Valley Cup Results

Moonee Valley Cup winners, placegetters and winning times since 2000 are shown below.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Grand Marshal 2 Who Shot Thebarman 3 Pentathlon 2:41.4
2015 1 The United States 2 Prince Of Penzance 3 Bohemian Lily 2:34.4
2014 1 Prince Of Penzance 2 Le Roi 3 Au Revoir 2:36.0
2013 1 Precedence 2 Shoreham 3 Gotta Take Care 2:36.9
2012 1 Vatuvei 2 Reuben Percival 3 Ironstein 2:35.7
2011 1 Americain 2 Tullamore 3 Illo 2:36.4
2010 1 Precedence 2 Above Average 3 Capecover 2:38.9
2009 1 The Sportsman 2 Irazu 3 Think Money 2:37.3
2008 1 Gallopin 2 Baughurst 3 Ice Chariot 2:36.5
2007 1 Gallic 2 Lazer Sharp 3 Jukebox Johnny 2:36.5
2006 1 Zipping 2 Show Barry 3 Gallic 2:38.9
2005 1 Umbula 2 Bazelle 3 Kindjhal 2:45.1
2004 1 Another Warrior 2 Rizon 3 Hard To Get 2:37.1
2003 1 Frightening 2 Legible 3 County Tyrone 2:38.5
2002 1 Thong Classic 2 Rain Gauge 3 Mr Prudent 2:40.9
2001 1 Rain Gauge 2 Spirit Of Westbury 3 Big Pat 2;37.6
2000 1 Yippyio 2 Brew 3 Cronus 2:41.3