Memsie Stakes

  • Date: Saturday August 26, 2017
  • Racecourse: Caulfield
  • Race Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: Open Weight-For-Age
  • Prize Money: $500,000

2016 Memsie Stakes News

Caulfield Cup Spring target for stablemates Bonneval and Jon Snow

Caulfield Cup Spring target for stablemates Bonneval and Jon Snow

Kiwi stablemates Bonneval and Jon Snow’s 2017 Melbourne Spring campaign will be aimed towards the Group 1 $3m BMW Caulfield Cup (2400m) at Caulfield on October 21.

Australian Oaks winner Bonneval. above, will be set for the 2017 Caulfield Cup at Caulfield. Photo by Steve Hart.

The two rising four year olds gave Cambridge co-trainers …

The 2017 Memsie Stakes is the first Group 1 race of the Spring Carnival held in late August every year at the famous Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. The open weight-for age event is run over a 1400m journey with $500,000 in prize money on offer.

Bet on Memsie Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Many runners will be first up in their preparations when they run in the Memsie Stakes but those that have run previously will likely have come through the Group 2 P B Lawrence Stakes at Caulfield two-weeks earlier. From this race it’s possible some will back up for the Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes at Moonee Valley the following week or run in the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes two weeks later at Flemington.

The Memsie Stakes can also be a great early guide to the Cox Plate with plenty of names featured on both winners lists.

After being upgraded to Group 1 level from Group 2 in 2013, the Memsie Stakes is now the first Group 1 event of the racing season.

The Memsie Stakes has been won by some greats of the Australian Turf and as well as being a great race in its own right, has proven to be a great stepping stone for the major weight for age races later in the Melbourne Spring Carnival including the Group 1 Ladbrokes Caulfield Stakes at Caulfield and the Group 1 Cox Plate at Moonee Valley and the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes now the Emirates Stakes at Flemington.

In recent times Sunline (2000), Makybe Diva (2005) and So You Think (2010) went on to win the Cox Plate after winning the Memsie Stakes in the same year while El Segundo won the Memsie Stakes in 2006 and the Cox Plate the following year.

Sir Boom had an interesting history in the event winning in 1996 before not featuring again until a second victory in 1999.

Sunline’s famous double came at the turn of the century winning the 2000 and 2001 races and triple Melbourne Cup champion Makybe Diva captured the 2005 Memsie Stakes

More recently the race has crowned Miss Finland in 2007 and Weekend Hussler in 2008 with So You Think the 2010 champion ahead of Whobegotyou which ran second in both 2009 and 2010 while Boban claimed the Memsie Stakes first up for trainer Chris Waller in 2015.

2017 Memsie Stakes Field

2017 Memsie Stakes Nominations

Memsie Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Memsie Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Black Heart Bart 2 Rising Romance 3 Mahuta 1:23.9
2015 1 Boban 2 Entirely Platinum 3 Stratum Star 1:24.61
2014 1 Dissident 2 Sweet Idea 3 Puissance De Lune 1:22.72
2013 1 Atlantic Jewel 2 Ferlax 3 Super Cool 1:24.43
2012 1 Sincero 2 Happy Trails 3 Second Effort 1:23.27
2011 1 King’s Rose 2 Heart of Dreams 3 Red Colossus 1:23.44
2010 1 So You Think 2 Whobegotyou 3 Shoot Out 1:26.6
2009 1 Mic Mac 2 Whobegotyou 3 Zarita 1:24.4
2008 1 Weekend Hussler 2 Maldivian 3 Pompeii Ruler 1:23.2
2007 1 Miss Finland 2 Haradasun 3 Tipungwuti 1:24.2
2006 1 El Segundo 2 Casual Pass 3 Apache Cat 1:23.2
2005 1 Makybe Diva 2 Barely A Moment 3 Regal Roller 1:26.7
2004 1 Regal Roller 2 Pacific Dancer 3 Delzao 1:23.0
2003 1 Le Zagaletta 2 Super Elegant 3 Out Of Options 1:25.2
2002 1 Magical Miss 2 Fields Of Omagh 3 Dash For Cash 1:24.0
2001 1 Sunline 2 Piavonic 3 Rum 1:25.5
2000 1 Sunline 2 Umrum 3 Oliver Twist 1:25.4