Makybe Diva Stakes

Deposit $50
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offer

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2017 Makybe Diva Stakes is a Group 1 event, formerly known as the Craiglee Stakes, held during the Spring Racing Carnival at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne every year. The 1600m event is contested under weight-for-age conditions with $500,000 in prize money on offer.

The name change came about in 2007 to honour the three time Melbourne Cup winning mare Makybe Diva and she is done proud every year with a quality field always on hand for the event. The mile test is a fantastic distance that either stretches the sprinters towards the end of their trip or acts as an early run for the stayers for later in the carnival.

Prior to the 2013 running of the race, the Makybe Diva Stakes held Group 2 status.

Many runners out of the Makybe Diva Stakes will move on to further Group 1 races in either the Underwood Stakes at Caulfield in two weeks or the Turnbull Stakes at Flemington a month later.

The Makybe Diva Stakes really starts to lift excitement levels of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival with most of the big names starting to come out for this race.

Northerly completed a famous double in 2002 when winning this event and going on to claim the Group 1 Cox Plate. Sky Heights also scored a double with this race and the Caulfield Cup in 1999.

Other big name horses to stand out in the list are the treble of winners from 1993 to 1995 Mannerism, Mahogany and Jeune.

More recently Pompeii Ruler won in 2006 with Weekend Hussler winning in 2008 and Melbourne Cup winner Shocking claiming the 2010 event while Fawkner was a brave first up winner in 2015..

2017 Makybe Diva Stakes Field

The 2017 Makybe Diva Stakes field was officially released on Wednesday, 7 September. The 2016 Makybe Diva Stakes field does great credit to the prestigious history of the race. In the 2016 Makybe Diva Stakes are a number of top quality horses, such as Fawkner and Boban. The 2016 Makybe Diva Stakes field is extremely classy and will throw a very decent challenge to the punters. You can check out the 2016 Makybe Diva Stakes field below.

2017 Makybe Diva Stakes Nominations

Released on Monday September 7th, the 2015 Makybe Diva Stakes nominations were initially extended to Tuesday September 8th. The 2015 Makybe Diva Stakes nominations promise an exciting race, with a high number of extremely talented horses included. The 2015 Makybe Diva Stakes nominations are provided below.

Makybe Diva Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placegetters in the Makybe Diva Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Palentino 2 Black Heart Bart 3 He or She 1:36.26
2015 1 Fawkner 2 Rising Romance 3 Entirely Platinum 1:37.96
2014 1 Dissident 2 Fawkner 3 Puissance De Lune 1:36.29
2013 1 Foreteller 2 Puissance De Lune 3 Moudre 1:37.0
2012 1 Southern Speed 2 Manighar 3 Moudre 1:37.8
2011 1 Littorio 2 Glass Harmonium 3 Midas Touch 1:37.8
2010 1 Shocking 2 Heart Of Dreams 3 Vigor 1:41.7
2009 1 Vigor 2 Typhoon Tracy 3 Master O’Reilly 1:35.8
2008 1 Weekend Hussler 2 Zarita 3 Littorio 1:38.6
2007 1 Marasco 2 Apache Cat 3 Zipping 1:36.7
2006 1 Pompeii Ruler 2 Sphenophyta 3 Zipping 1:38.5
2005 1 Confectioner 2 Free At Last 3 Our Smoking Joe 1:35.8
2004 1 Hugs Dancer 2 Elvstoem 3 Zagalia 1:38.2
2003 1 Pentastic 2 Walk On Air 3 Mummify 1:37.2
2002 1 Northerly 2 Le Zagaletta 3 Silver Baron 1:37.9
2001 1 Native Jazz 2 Aka Bilk 3 Universal Prince 1:37.4
2000 1 Go Flash Go 2 Oliver Twist 3 Showella 1:42.1