Lee Steere Classic

  • Date: Saturday December 5, 2015
  • Racecourse: Ascot
  • Race Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: 3YO, Set Weight
  • Prize Money: $150,000

2016 Lee Steere Classic News

Liberty’s Gem To Be Tough To Beat In Sir Ernest Lee-Steere Classic

Liberty’s Gem To Be Tough To Beat In Sir Ernest Lee-Steere Classic

Trainer Simon Miller believes that Liberty’s Gem will be very tough to beat in the 2014 Sir Ernest Lee-Steere Classic and rates the talented gelding his best chance at Ascot this weekend.

Ben Melham will take the ride on Liberty’s Gem in the 2014 Sir Ernest Lee-Steere Classic this weekend. Photo by: Race Horse Photos …

The 2015 Lee Steere Classic is a Group 3 contest run annually during November at Ascot Racecourse in Perth. It sits towards the back end of the Perth summer racing carnival and is worth $150,000 in prize money.

Bet on Lee Steere Classic Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The Lee Steere Classic is run over a trip of 1400m and is specifically for three year olds under set weight conditions.

This race is held after the WA Guineas so it suits horses that are fresh enough to handle the drop back to 1400m from there.

By this stage of the carnival punters should have had a good look at all the contenders and many will have form coming out of the same events.

While many may come from the WA Guineas, don’t expect it to be a strong form guide.

In fact you have to go back all the way to 1993 and Classy Dresser to find a galloper that managed to win the double.

That said Dexian in 2001, Changing Lanes in 2003 and Stormy Nova in 2004 all placed in both races.

More recent winners include Yuro in 2007, Dino Mak in 2009 and Playcidium Mint in 2010.

2015 Lee Steere Classic Field

The Lee Steere Classic field usually draws a fairly talented selection of local runners. It is fairly unusual for horses from eastern stables to make the journey over to Perth to run in the Lee Steere Classic field.

The 2015 Lee Steere Classic field will be provided here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 453711×967 LORD CONRAD Mike Storer Damien Oliver 4 56.5kg
2 130×2444 PUSHIN’ SHAPES Daniel Pearce Jarrad Noske 3 56.5kg
3 512 YOSHI NOXIOUS Brian Kersley Brad Parnham 6 56.5kg
4 216 REMEMBER BERLIN Simon A Miller Peter Knuckey 7 56.5kg
5 LITE’N IN MY VEINS Fred Kersley Douglas Whyte 2 56.5kg
6 2×24131 LET IT SLIP Daniel Pearce Peter Hall 8 54.5kg
7 x80x324521 KENTUCKY LASS Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 5 54.5kg
8 13×5329 PUTERI JEWEL Simon A Miller Chris Parnham 9 54.5kg
9 2154 TOTAL ECLIPSE Grant Williams William Pike 1 54.5kg

2015 Lee Steere Classic Nominations

The Lee Steere Classic nominations are usually released about 4-5 days prior to race day. Many trainers enter their three year olds in the Lee Steere Classic nominations as a final race to round off their summer campaign. Some trainers might throw their horses into the Lee Steere Classic nominations as a means of getting some more practice in with an eye on the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

The 2015 Lee Steere Classic nominations will be published below.

Lee Steere Classic Results

Winners and placers in the Lee Steere Classic since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2015 1 Lite’m In My Veins 2 Yoshi Noxious 3 Pushin’ Shapes  1:27.16
2014 1 Liberty’s Gem 2 Outlaw Pete 3 Hobart Jones  1:23.95
2013 1 Petrol Power 2 Shades Of Rio 3 Moet Me  1:23.5
2012 1 Hard Ball Get 2 Fuddle Dee Duddle 3 Passion Cantata  1:25.8
2011 1 Night War 2 Watermans Bay 3 Born To Excel  1:23.7
2010 1 Playcidium Mint 2 Black Felix 3 Veracious  1:23.1
2009 1 Dino Mak 2 Impressive Jeuney 3 The Corporation  1:22.2
2008 1 Destino 2 Sheenasaidgrey 3 Liquidation  1:22.5
2007 1 Yuro 2 Belle Of Kenmare 3 Black In Time  1:23.1
2006 1 Mansion House 2 Cash In The Bank 3 Clarecastle  1:23.1
2005 1 (Dec) Secret Monarch 2 Homme 3 Narrnoo  1:22.4
2005 1 (Jan) Stormy Nova 2 Moet Magic 3 My Leo  1:22.4
2003 1 Changing Lanes 2 Hartley’s Dream 3 Chaumont  1:25.0
2002 1 Early Express 2 Very Auspicious 3 Zoometric  1:23.3
2001 1 Dexian 2 Kame’s Hope 3 Shamrock Son  1:23.6
2000 1 Master Park 2 Old Comrade 3 The Tin Man  1:25.7