Hyperion Stakes

  • Date: Saturday June 13, 2015
  • Racecourse: Belmont
  • Race Distance: 1600m
  • Conditions: 3YO+, Weight For Age
  • Prize Money: $125,000

2016 Hyperion Stakes News

Tower Of Lonhro Set To Peak In Railway Stakes

Tower Of Lonhro Set To Peak In Railway Stakes

Tower Of Lonhro is currently available at lengthy 2015 Railway Stakes odds of $41, but trainer Adam Durrant believes that the veteran gelding will be at his peak for the Group 1 event at Ascot on Saturday.

Peter Hall (pictured riding Delicacy in the South Australian Derby) will partner Tower Of Lonhro in the 2015 …

The Group 3 2015 Hyperion Stakes is an event held each year at Belmont Racecourse during the month of June. Belmont is one of the provincial circuits in Perth, the capital of Western Australia. The Hyperion Stakes is a weight for age contest run over a trip of 1600m.

Bet on Hyperion Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The race is worth $125,000 and is only a new addition to the circuit.

The Hyperion Stakes was first run at Belmont in 2011 and was raised from an original distance of 1400m.

It’s a race contested by mainly local gallopers however the odd horse can come across from the east.

Being a weight for age race the best milers have a distinct advantage and punters tend to get a good read of these horses against each other.

More often than not the top Perth horses pass through the same events assuming they don’t travel to the east coast.

The main race leading up to the Hyperion Stakes is the Group 3 Belmont Sprint.

For those continuing on afterwards the Group 3 Strickland Stakes could be an option although it’s worth noting that the race is over 2000m.

In the end it really comes down to whether or not the horse is being stretched to the mile or if they’re looking for even more ground.

2015 Hyperion Stakes Field

The 2015 Hyperion Stakes field will be published here as soon as it becomes available.

Previous winners of the Hyperion Stakes include Willoughby in 1998, Tribula in 2003 and Amber’s Halo in 2005.

Marasco won this race twice in 2008 and 2010 as well as finishing second in 2009.

King Kool Kat beat a quality field to win in 2011.

Hyperion Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Hyperion Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2014 1 Elite Belle 2 Ranger 3 Grand Nirvana  1:39.77
2013 1 Black Tycoon 2 Kerrific 3 Ranger  1:38.1
2012 1 Luckygray 2 Grand Nirvana 3 Rosie Rocket  1:38.3
2011 1 King Kool Kat 2 Impressive Jeuney 3 Grand Nirvana  1:37.8
2010 1 Marasco 2 Tarzi 3 Spitfire Ace  1:23.3
2009 1 Tarzi 2 Marasco 3 Hadabeclorka  1:22.1
2008 1 Marasco 2 Scenic Shot 3 Scenic Blast  1:22.6
2007 1 No Questions 2 Arctic Park 3 Star Laser  1:23.2
2006 1 Local Legend 2 Attractions 3 Changing Lanes  1:22.5
2005 1 Amber’s Halo 2 Field Commander 3 Lakeside Rhythm  1:25.3
2004 1 Dedicated Miss 2 Mapperholic 3 Kensyl Bay  1:24.4
2003 1 Tribula 2 Mogul 3 Early Express  1:23.3
2002 1 Old Fashion 2 Storm Shot 3 Jugahtrice  1:24.1
2001 1 Country Blazer 2 Bumbelina 3 Lyrical King  1:24.9
2000 1 Devilish Dealer 2 Wild Flood 3 Sweepshot  1:23.8