Group 3 Races

Group 3 races account for almost half of all group races run each year. Group races as a whole are the most prestigious type of horse racing for thoroughbreds in Australia, and are internationally recognised. Group races are said to have “Black Type” status, which is of high importance to breeders, owners and racing clubs. Group races were initially known as Principal Races until their name was changed in 1979.

In order to qualify for Group 3 status, a race must have minimum prize money of $100,000. The majority of these races are held during racing carnivals, and are run as a lead up to some of the more lucrative Group 1 and Group 2 races. Some of the most popular Group 3 races run each year include the Lexus Stakes, which offers prize money of $250,000 and is held over a distance of 2500 metres at Flemington Racecourse on Victoria Derby Day, as well as the Randwick City Stakes held during Sydney’s Autumn Racing Carnival. The Randwick City Stakes is contested over a distance of 2,000 metres and offers prize money of $125,000. Other notable Group 3 races in Australia include the Blue Diamond Prelude, Hobart Cup, Breeders Stakes and the Gold Coast Guineas. In total, there are 112 Group 3 races in Australia each year.

Group 3 Horse Races