Group 2 Races

Group 2 races are among the top echelon of horse racing in Australia. Group 1 races have the highest status in racing; however these races are closely followed in prestige by Group 2 races. Group 2 races offer a minimum of $150,000 in prize money and 83 Group 2 races are run in Australia every year. The recommendation to designate a particular race as Group 2 is first made by the Australian Pattern committee. Races that are deemed to meet the proper standard of racing are then approved by the Australian Racing Board.

One of the most famous of the Group 2 races is the Makybe Diva Stakes which is held in September each year at Flemington Racecourse. This race is worth $500,000 in prize money and is run over a distance of 1600 metres. Other well-known Group 2 races include the Brisbane Cup, Adelaide Cup and the Winterbottom Stakes.

Group 2 races are usually held as part of racing carnivals hosted by metropolitan race clubs, such as the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Many of these Group 2 races are as well-renowned and popular as their fellow Group 1 races and attract much attention from both the racing industry and spectators alike.

Group 2 Horse Races