Gloaming Stakes

  • Date: Saturday September 24, 2016
  • Racecourse: Rosehill
  • Race Distance: 1800m
  • Conditions: 3yo, Set Weight
  • Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Gloaming Stakes News

Spring Champion Stakes distance to suit Swear

Spring Champion Stakes distance to suit Swear

Big race jockey Tommy Berry anticipates the step up to the 2000m of the Group 1 $500,000 Moet & Chandon Spring Champion Stakes at Randwick on Saturday will suit his mount Swear.

Swear, above with orange and purple colours, will appreciate the step up to 2000m in the Spring Champion Stakes at Randwick. Photo by …

The 2016 Gloaming Stakes is a Group 3 race that has serious implications for some of the bigger races over the course of the spring. The event is held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in Sydney and is run over a distance of 1800m.

Bet on Gloaming Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

It is for three year olds at set weight and is worth $200,000 in prize money.

The Gloaming Stakes provides a direct lead up for horses going into the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes over 2000m on the final day of the Sydney carnival.

As a result the horses that contest the Gloaming Stakes are usually well above average with many top liners.

This Gloaming Stakes also gives punters an early look at horses potentially going south for the Melbourne spring.

The Group 1 Victoria Derby could be a goal for some of these horses as well as the Melbourne lead up events like the Group 2 Norman Robinson Stakes.

In 2011 Sangster finished 8th as second favourite in this race before going on to cause an upset and win the 2011 Victoria Derby.

In terms of races before this, the Spring Stakes at Newcastle is one to keep an eye on as well as the even the open grade Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes which 2011 winner Strike The Stars passed through.

It can be a tough race to read though and results can shift drastically as the three year olds are stepped up in distance.

The Gloaming Stakes has been a race for champions over the years though with Tie The Knot winning in 1997, Al Maher in 2004 and So You Think in 2009.

2016 Gloaming Stakes Field

The Gloaming Stakes field usually attracts a decent selection of three year olds from around the Sydney racing circuit and elsewhere. Because it’s run under set weights, the Gloaming Stakes field usually provides relatively level competition. As a result, it is often targeted by trainers of top horses and rising horses alike.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x323211x46 PRIZED ICON James Cummings Blake Shinn 3 56.5kg 88
2 1×1 SWEAR Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Christian Reith 10 56.5kg 76
3 8×164221 HIGH MIST Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 2 56.5kg 74
4 1×13 RETALIATION John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 5 56.5kg 66
5 634×11 VELADERO Chris Waller Rory Hutchings 6 56.5kg 66
6 012 COONAWARRA Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Adam Hyeronimus 4 56.5kg 65
7 3911 OCULIST John Sargent Joshua Parr 9 56.5kg 65
8 5×51 HONEYWINE John O’Shea James McDonald 1 56.5kg 62
9 51546 TUMULTUOUS Chris Waller Tye Angland 8 56.5kg 62
10 303×653 LASQUETI SPIRIT Lee Curtis Ms Winona Costin 7 54.5kg

2016 Gloaming Stakes Nominations

The Gloaming Stakes nominations usually list a quality selection of top young three year olds. Every year, you can reliably expect to see some successful group winners among the Gloaming Stakes nominations.

The 2016 Gloaming Stakes nominations will be released on Monday, September 21st and published below shortly after.

Gloaming Stakes Winners & Results

Winners and placers in the Gloaming Stakes since 2000 with winning times.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Veladero 2 Honeywine 3 Prized Icon  1:50.2
2015 1 Vanbrugh 2 Tatoosh 3 Man Of Choice  1:49.6
2014 1 Sweynesse 2 Diamond Valores 3 Pounamu  1:49.5
2013 1 Complacent 2 Savvy Nature 3 Drago  1:49.2
2012 1 It’s A Dundeel 2 Honorius 3 Lunar Rise  1:50.6
2011 1 Strike The Stars 2 Doctor Doom 3 King’s Pact  1:49.0
2010 1 Retrieve 2 Erewhon 3 Praecido  1:48.2
2009 1 So You Think 2 Gathering 3 Heraklion  1:50.8
2008 1 Predatory Pricer 2 Stalingrad 3 Fight And Defend  1:51.9
2007 1 Race Not Run 2 3  
2006 1 All Black Gold 2 Tuesday Joy 3 Sermon  1:49.2
2005 1 Pendragon 2 Power Of Destiny 3 Duelled  1:50.4
2004 1 Al Maher 2 Savabeel 3 Outback Prince  1:49.3
2003 1 Tsuimai 2 Terracotta Bay 3 Square One  1:49.6
2002 1 Maskerado 2 Platinum Scissors 3 Sportsman  1:57.0
2001 1 Courvoisier 2 Excellerator 3 Silk Veil  1:49.7
2000 1 Go Bint 2 Dandify 3 Danachenka  1:59.4