George Moore Stakes

  • Date: Saturday November 28, 2015
  • Racecourse: Doomben
  • Race Distance: 1,200m
  • Conditions: Quality Handicap
  • Prize Money: $200,000

2016 George Moore Stakes News

Lough Neagh Stakes Distance will suit Too Good To Refuse

Lough Neagh Stakes Distance will suit Too Good To Refuse

The step up to the 1350m in the Listed $150,000 Lexy Group Lough Neagh Stakes at Doomben on Saturday will suit Too Good To Refuse according to trainer Desleigh Forster.

Too Good To Refuse, above, is among the nominations for the Lough Neagh Stakes at Doomben, Photo by Daniel Costello.

Too Good To Refuse will …

The 2015 George Moore Stakes is a Group 3 race that takes place at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane in December each year. In 2014, it was held at Doomben Racecourse while Eagle Farm undergoes renovations.

Bet on George Moore Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Run over a distance of 1,200 metres, the George Moore Stakes is run as part of Brisbane’s Summer Series. The George Moore Stakes is run under quality handicap conditions and is worth $200,000 in prize money.

The George Moore Stakes was first run in 1979 when it was won by a horse named Princess Reichen. The race originally began as a Group 3 race, however, was downgraded to a Listed race from 1983-2000. The George Moore Stakes was reinstated as a Group 3 in 2001.

Throughout the years the George Moore Stakes has been known as many different names. The race is officially registered as the Summer Stakes and was known as this in 1989, 1993 and again from 2000-2006. Other previous names include the XXXX Stakes, Thornhill Park Stakes and the AWA Stakes.

The George Moore Stakes is usually contested by the best local Brisbane sprinters and is renowned for attracting a quality field.

It represents a good opportunity for black-type horses to re-enter racing, having possibly been in the paddock for a couple of months.

Notable George Moore Stakes winners include Chief De Beers (1997), Takeover Target (2005) and Burdekin Blues (2009).

2015 George Moore Stakes Field

The 2015 George Moore Stakes field will be publicly released on Wednesday, December 2nd. There’s not a lot of black-type racing in Brisbane prior to it, so a lot of punters turn out to get on the George Moore Stakes field. As a short sprint held under quality handicap conditions, you can expect to see some of the top sprinters in Queensland returning to racing in this.

The 2015 George Moore Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 0x6704x30x TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan Michael Cahill 3 59.5kg 106
2 x047000x59 FONTELINA Tony Gollan Jim Byrne 1 58kg 103
3 8x50x21131 DIDNTCOSTALOT Tony Gollan Tegan Harrison 5 55kg 97
4 228×152123 ARCHITECT Sherrie Lawlor Robbie Fradd 6 54.5kg 96
5 x151525x33 MISS COVER GIRL Kelly Schweida Glen Colless 12 54kg 92
6 4321600×96 NEO (NZ) Stuart Kendrick Anthony Allen 9 54kg 92
7 2x51340x74 GUNDY SPIRIT Tony Gollan Luke Tarrant (a) 7 54kg 88
8 16221×7131 CHARGE ACCOUNT Doug Roberts Jeff Lloyd 4 54kg 87.5
9 86×2351370 CASUAL CHOICE Tony Gollan 11 54kg 86
10 x12x1152x8 LE VAL Noel Doyle Beau Appo (a) 10 54kg 86
11 22141112×2 FELTRE Lynn Tipper Ryan Wiggins 8 54kg 85
12 30x4518x32 TOP TONE Lorraine Erhart Anthony Erhart 2 54kg 77

2015 George Moore Stakes Nominations

The 2015 George Moore Stakes nominations are expected to be announced on Monday, November 30th. Because it represents the return to black-type racing for the summer in Brisbane, quite a few talented types enter the George Moore Stakes nominations.

The 2015 George Moore Stakes nominations will be provided here.

George Moore Stakes Results

Here you will find a list of George Moore Stakes winners, winning times and results since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2015 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2014 1 Big Money 2 Someday 3 Cape Kidnappers 1:09.7
2013 1 Lucky Hussler 2 Morning Captain 3 Startsmeup 1:08.4
2012 1 Startsmeup 2 Phelan Ready 3 Morning Captain 1:09.5
2011 1 Adebisi 2 Latin News 3 Spirit Of Boom 1:10.3
2010 1 Race not held 2 Race not held 3 Race not held 0:00.0
2009 1 Burdekin Blues 2 Zero Rock 3 Forestreno  1:08.0
2008 1 Friendly Embrace 2 Daunting Lad 3 Tour Guide  1:09.6
2007 Not Held  
2006 1 Natural Destiny 2 Hard To Catch 3 Tornado Alley  1:09.2
2005 1 Takeover Target 2 Picardi Run 3 Proudly Agro  1:07.8
2004 1 Show Biz Kid 2 Sir Breakfast 3 Karamazou  1:08.5
2003 1 Make Mine Magic 2 Consular 3 Forever Amen  1:09.0
2002 1 Baal Yabba 2 Smart Chariot 3 Diamond Dane  1:09.6
2001 1 Alpine Express 2 Amaizcay 3 Federal Agent  1:10.1
2000 1 Fine Action 2 King Lotto 3 Kanconcarne  1:08.3