George Main Stakes

Deposit $50
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offer

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2017 George Main Stakes is a Group 1 race that is held at Randwick Racecourse in late September each year. The George Main Stakes, now known as the Colgate Optic White Stakes, is the premier weight-for-age event of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. Run over a distance of 1,600 metres, the George Main Stakes is worth $500,000 in prize money and the winner of this race is exempt from the ballot of the Group 1 Epsom Handicap that takes place a fortnight later.

The George Main Stakes was first run in 1945 when it was won by Modulation. The race is named after George Main, who was a former chairman of the Australian Jockey Club (before it was known as the Australian Turf Club).  The George Main Stakes was not run in 2007 due to the outbreak of Equine Influenza in Australia. Horse racing tips that perform well in the George Main Stakes often go on to run in the Epsom Handicap, especially due to the ballot exemption the winner receives.

Throughout the years, back-to-back George Main Stakes titles have been won on many occasions. Horses to have achieved this include Shannon (1946-47), Count Radiant (1964-65), Regal Rhythm (1967-68), and the great Kingston Town (1981-82). The fastest winning George Main Stakes time was set by Racing To Win in 2006, who finished the race in 1 minutes and 33.75 seconds. Montana (1952) holds the record for the slowest winning time, passing the post in 1 minute and 48.75 seconds.

Other notable horses to win the George Main Stakes include De La Salle (1948), Wenona Girl (1963), Baguette (1971), Imposing (1979), Emancipation (1983), Vo Rogue (1989), Shaftesbury Avenue (1990), Shogun Lodge (1999), Lonhro (2003), Grand Armee (2004) and More Joyous (2010).

2017 George Main Stakes Field

The George Main Stakes field is usually comprised of a decent selection of talent, both from Sydney stables and elsewhere. The George Main Stakes field attracts some of the top horses on the racing circuit and certainly some of the best weight-for-agers. The 2016 George Main Stakes field will be released on Wednesday, September 14th.

As soon as all details are available, the 2017 George Main Stakes field will be published here.

2017 George Main Stakes Nominations

The 2017 George Main Stakes nominations will be made public on Monday, September 12th. Once all details are finalised, the 2017 George Main Stakes nominations will be uploaded here.

George Main Stakes Past Winners & Results

Many of Australia’s best gallopers have won or placed in the George Main Stakes during its history and below you will find a list of past results since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD TBD
2016 1 Winx 2 Hauraki 3 It’s Somewwhat 1:36.18
2015 1 Kermadec 2 Royal Descent 3 Pornichet 1:37.70
2014 1 Sacred Falls 2 Royal Descent 3 Laser Hawk 1:35.66
2013 1 Streama 2 Royal Descent 3 Veyron 1:34.78
2012 1 Shoot Out 2 Rangirangdoo 3 Secret Admirer 1:36.4
2011 1 Sincero 2 Ilovethiscity 3 Triple Elegance 1:28.5
2010 1 More Joyous 2 Trusting 3 Empires Choice 1:35.6
2009 1 Road to Rock 2 Black Piranha 3 Onemorenomore 1:35.5
2008 1 Mentality 2 Theseo 3 Gallant Tess 1:34.6
2007 Race Not Run
2006 1 Racing To Win 2 Red Dazzler 3 Desert War 1:33.8
2005 1 Mr Celebrity 2 Shania Dane 3 Outback Prince 1:34.6
2004 1 Grand Armee 2 King’s Chapel 3 Shamekha 1:36.9
2003 1 Lonhro 2 Grand Armee 3 Defier 1:37.5
2002 1 Defier 2 Excellerator 3 Sunline 1:38.3
2001 1 Viscount 2 Shogun Lodge 3 Courvoisier 1:36.7
2000 1 Adam 2 Mr. Innocent 3 Al Mansour 1:35.3