Geelong Cup

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2017 Geelong Cup is a Group 3 race that takes place at Geelong Racecourse in Melbourne on the fourth Wednesday of October each year.

Run over a distance of 2,400 metres, the Geelong Cup is run as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The Geelong Cup is run under open handicap conditions and is worth [cf “prize_money”] in prize money. Horses that win the Geelong Cup are granted automatic entry into the prestigious Melbourne Cup.

The Geelong Cup was first run in 1872 when it was won by a horse named Flying Scud. The race is an excellent form guide for the Melbourne Cup, with many horses successfully completing the Geelong Cup and Melbourne Cup double. Horses that have achieved this include Media Puzzle (2002), Americain (2010) and Dunaden (2011).

Horses that perform well in races such as the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes and the Group 1 Caulfield Cup often go on to run in the Geelong Cup, however, the field is predominantly made up of Melbourne Cup hopefuls.

The Geelong Cup is often targeted by foreign horses, either as a means of gaining entry to the Melbourne Cup or in order to get a preparatory race in on Australian soil.

The Geelong Cup was inaugurated in 1872 and has a very long and strong racing history. The Geelong Cup holds an important place in Victorian racing, and will no doubt continue to do so long into the future.

Notable Geelong Cup winners include Karasi (2001), On A Jeune (2005), Bauer (2008) and Leica Ding (2009).

2017 Geelong Cup Field

The Geelong Cup field usually draws a fairly talented field of stayers. As a Group 3 race not far out of Melbourne, the Geelong Cup field tends to be fairly heavy with upper tier types. However, you can occasionally get some local runners in the Geelong Cup field, although in recent years they haven’t performed too well.

The 2017 Geelong Cup field will be published below.

2017 Geelong Cup Nominations

The Geelong Cup nominations usually draw a variety of types from all around. An eclectic mixture of local horses, Melbourne and interstate horses and foreign raiders tend to enter the Geelong Cup nominations. You’ll notice that quite a large number of Geelong Cup nominations have Melbourne Cup aspirations, and are seeking ballot exemption via win in this race.

The 2017 Geelong Cup nominations will be published below.

Geelong Cup Results

Below you will find a list of Geelong Cup results and winning times since the year 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2016 1 Qewy 2 Grey Lion 3 Oceanographer  2:28.9
2015 1 Almoonqith 2 Dandino 3 Manndawi  2:28.9
2014 1 Caravan Rolls On 2 Marksmanship 3 Like A Carousel  2:31.2
2013 1 Ibicenco 2 Verdant 3 Moudre  2:35.2
2012 1 Gatewood 2 Chateau Margaux 3 Brigantin  2:34.1
2011 1 Dunaden 2 Tanby 3 Bauer  2:30.1
2010 1 Americain 2 Moudre 3 Exceptionally  2:30.3
2009 1 Leica Ding 2 Dandaad 3 Sterling Prince  2:27.5
2008 1 Bauer 2 Moatize 3 Magic Instinct  2.30:1
2007 1 The Fuzz 2 Zavite 3 Desert Master  2:27.0
2006 1 Mandela 2 Vanquished 3 Dacs Back  2:28.2
2005 1 On A Jeune 2 Brave Lancer 3 Men At Work  2:26.7
2004 1 Pacific Dancer 2 Devastating 3 Diamond Jake  2:26.5
2003 1 Zazzman 2 Shes Archie 3 Tumeric  2:30.0
2002 1 Media Puzzle (USA) 2 Requiem 3 Donarch  2:25.9
2001 1 Karasi (Ire.) 2 Maythehorsebewithu 3 Scrumptious  2:32.0
2000 1 Savrocca 2 Apache King 3 Bulkhead  2:29.9