Flight Stakes

  • Date: Saturday September 30, 2017
  • Racecourse: Randwick
  • Race Distance: 1,600m
  • Conditions: 3YO Fillies Set Weight
  • Prize Money: $500,000

2016 Flight Stakes News

Global Glamour looking to slot into The Everest

Global Glamour looking to slot into The Everest

Dual Group 1 winning filly Global Glamour is back in work in preparation for the Spring Carnival and co-trainer Adrian Bott is hoping to secure her a slot in the $10m The Everest (1200m) at Randwick on October 14.

Global Glamour, above, will be aimed towards securing a slot in The Everest at Randwick. Photo …

The 2017 Flight Stakes is a Group 1 race that is held annually at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney in October. The Flight Stakes is run under set-weight conditions and is open to three-year-old fillies only. Run as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, the Flight Stakes is run over a distance of 1,600 metres and is worth $500,000 in prize money.

Bet on Flight Stakes Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from Ladbrokes.com.au

The Flight Stakes takes place on Epsom Handicap Day along with the Group 1 Epsom Handicap, Group 1 The Metropolitan, Group 2 Premiere Stakes, Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes, Group 3 Craven Plate and three Listed events to round off a massive day of racing.

The first Flight Stakes was run back in 1947 when it was won by a horse named Nizam’s Ring. The race is named after a champion mare named Flight who won the Cox Plate in both 1945 and 1946. The Flight Stakes first began as a Principal race and was run under this status from 1947 to 1978. The Flight Stakes was elevated to Group 2 status in 1979 before being granted its official Group 1 status in 1984. The Flight Stakes experienced a dead heat in 1996, when it was won by both Dash Eagle and Assertive Lass. The race was not run in 2007 due to an outbreak of Equine Influenza in Australia.

Fillies that compete in the Flight Stakes often come via the Group 2 Furious Stakes or the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes. Sunline (1998), Danglissa (1999), Unworldly (2000) and Samantha Miss (2008) have all claimed the Flight Stakes, Furious Stakes and Tea Rose Stakes treble. Other notable winners of the Flight Stakes throughout the years include Wenona Girl (1960), Research (1988), Triscay (1990), Ha Ha (2001), Lotteria (2004), Fashions Afield (2005) and More Joyous (2009).

2016 Flight Stakes Field

The Flight Stakes field usually contains a number of fairly handy three year olds. Those fillies who make it into the final Flight Stakes field tend to have a fairly good knack for mile distances.

2017 Flight Stakes Nominations

The Flight Stakes nominations attract both local three year old fillies and some from further abroad. A number of horses target the Flight Stakes nominations in an endeavour to get some fillies-only competition into their spring campaign.

Flight Stakes Results

Below you will find a list of Flight Stakes winners and results since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2016 1 Global Glamour 2 Yankee Rose 3 Sezanne 1:35.8
2015 1 Speak Fondly 2 Honesta 3 Perignon 1:35.91
2014 1 First Seal 2 Winx 3 Thinking Of You 1:34.71
2013 1 Guelph 2 Sensibility 3 Bound For Earth 1:36.23
2012 1 Norzita 2 Longport 3 Dear Demi 1:36.0
2011 1 Streama 2 Hallowell Belle 3 Dowager Queen 1:36.7
2010 1 Secret Admirer 2 More Strawberries 3 Parables 1:34.6
2009 1 More Joyous 2 Sister Madly 3 Hurtle Myrtle 1:40.0
2008 1 Samantha Miss 2 Portillo 3 Kamillsy 1:38.4
2007 Race Not Run
2006 1 Cheeky Choice 2 My Lady’s Chamber 3 Fleur Royale 1:36.0
2005 1 Fashions Afield 2 Beauty Watch 3 Mnemosyne 1:37.2
2004 1 Lotteria 2 Cincinnati Gal 3 Covertly 1:37.6
2003 1 Unearthly 2 Santissima 3 Classy Dane 1:36.6
2002 1 Royal Purler 2 Victory Vein 3 Private Steer 1:37.4
2001 1 Ha Ha 2 Moonflute 3 Hosannah 1:36.2
2000 1 Unworldly 2 Picholine 3 Lady Mulan 1:34.5