Eclipse Stakes

Deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The 2016 Eclipse Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Sandown Racecourse every November in Victoria. It forms part of the back end of the Melbourne spring racing carnival and provides one last chance for many horses, trainers and connections.

The race is contested over a trip of 1800m and there is $150,000 in prize money on offer for winning connections.

The race is run under quality handicap conditions and now takes its place on Sandown’s biggest race card.

The Eclipse Stakes used to be run the week after Zipping Classic Day but in 2011 it was moved forward to create a card with four group races. The schedule now boasts the Group 1 Zipping Classic, Group 2 Sandown Guineas, Group 3 Sandown Stakes, Group 3 Summoned Stakes, Group 3 Kevin Heffernan Stakes and three listed events.

This race has changed forms in more than just dates over the years as it used to be run at Caulfield Racecourse.

With the shift in venue came a shift in distance too and over the years it’s been anything from the 1800m it is now up to 2100m.

Sandown is known for its tough straight which is uphill and means horses need to be able to run out a strong 1800m to be any chance.

Being at the very end of the carnival horses can come from any number of lead up races and there’s often a number dropping in both class and distance.

It also means this will be the final run of the prep for most runners so there’s no doubt they’ll be presented in the best possible conditions.

It’s been a race that has produced some future champions though and it does take a decent horse to win it.

Super Impose came through here way back in 1988 and Fields Of Omagh got up in 2001.

More recently Like It Is won in 2007, Viking Hero in 2010 and Rothera at big odds in 2011.

2016 Eclipse Stakes Field

The Eclipse Stakes field usually attracts a fairly decent range of stayers and milers. While a few horses may step up to the 1800m, the nature of the Sandown track means that the Eclipse Stakes field is usually filled out with horses stepping down in distance.

The 2016 Eclipse Stakes field will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 0x1xD2x029 LIDARI (FR) Darren Weir John Allen 5 59kg 102
2 x311118x30 TURNITAROUND Matthew Williams Hugh Bowman 14 58.5kg 101
3 x118284470 JACQUINOT BAY David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Craig Williams 6 58kg 100
4 4402846×22 PUCCINI (NZ) Wayne Walters Stephen Baster 8 58kg 100
5 11x4740x00 AUVRAY (FR) Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 1 57kg 98
6 4106x0x083 DESERT JEUNEY Nigel Blackiston 3 56.5kg 97
7 120×984590 MAGNAPAL Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Luke Currie 12 56.5kg 97
8 61x1121x72 TUCANCHOO (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 15 56kg 96
9 x1519125x6 LORD VAN PERCY (GB) Darren Weir Luke Nolen 13 55kg 94
10 8421×74087 GABELLA (FR) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damien Oliver 10 54kg 90
11 32087×1535 ALASKAN ROSE (NZ) Michael Moroney Patrick Moloney 9 54kg 84
12 x2511557x4 HIGH CHURCH (IRE) Darren Weir Dean Yendall 7 54kg 84
13 321213×922 COOL CHAP Lee & Anthony Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 2 54kg 83
14 5x586x5218 PLOT THE COURSE Michael Trotter Damian Lane 4 54kg 82
15 901230×066 TEMPS VOLEUR Robbie Laing 11 54kg 79

2016 Eclipse Stakes Nominations

The Eclipse Stakes nominations usually feature a fairly diverse range of horses of varying talents and from a variety of preparations. The majority of those gallopers which enter the Eclipse Stakes nominations are coming off the back of a fairly extensive spring carnival campaign and have well established form.

The 2016 Eclipse Stakes nominations will be published below.

Eclipse Stakes Results

Eclipse Stakes winners and place getters since 2000 with winning times are displayed below.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2016 1 Turnitaround 2 High Church 3 Lidari  1:51.2
2015 1 Casino Dancer 2 Puccini 3 Worthy Cause  1:48.0
2014 1 Zabisco 2 Pheidon 3 Extra Zero  1:49.7
2013 1 Mouro 2 Rain Drum 3 Bel Thor  1:50.3
2012 1 Eclair Surprise 2 Tai Tai Tess 3 Shewan  1:49.6
2011 1 Rothera 2 Folding Gear 3 Ulundi  1:52.1
2010 1 Viking Hero 2 Davcon 3 Niblick  1:55.2
2009 1 Bashful Girl 2 Rose Syrah 3 Down Under Boy  1:49.8
2008 1 Eskimo Dan 2 Instructor 3 Sentire  2:15.5
2007 1 Like It Is 2 Shinzig 3 Hidden Strings  1:50.4
2006 1 Utility 2 Douro Valley 3 Flash Trick  1:52.0
2005 1 Aqua D’Amore 2 Stamen 3 Wild Classic  2:14.5
2004 1 Requisite 2 Fonome 3 Caveat Emptor  1:49.6
2003 1 Zazzman 2 Chairman’s Choice 3 You Little Beaut  2:03.8
2002 1 Damaschino 2 Another Warrior 3 British Buska  2:02.1
2001 1 Fields Of Omagh 2 Thong Classic 3 Aquiver  2:11.1
2000 1 Tickle My 2 The Collector 3 Aka Bilk  2:07.0