Doncaster Mile

  • Date: April 2, 2016
  • Racecourse: Randwick
  • Race Distance: 1,600m
  • Conditions: Open Handicap
  • Prize Money: $3 million

2016 Doncaster Mile News

Winx to spell, no Emirates Stakes

Winx to spell, no Emirates Stakes

An overseas campaign will be discussed for dual Cox Plate winner Winx as she heads to the paddock for a well deserved break following her record breaking victory in the Weight For Age Championship of Australasia last Saturday.

Winx, above, has been sent to the spelling paddock following her second Cox Plate win at Moonee …

The 2016 Doncaster Mile is a Group 1 race that is one of the feature events of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival and is the main race on the opening day of The Championships.

Bet on Doncaster Mile Racing:
$500 Bonus Bet from

Taking place at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, the Doncaster Mile is worth $3 million prizemoney and is one of four Group 1 races held that is held of the opening weekend of The Championships, along with the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m), Group 1 T.J. Smith Stakes (1200m) and Group 1 Sires Produce Stakes (1400m).

The Doncaster Mile was first held in 1865 when it was won by Dundee as a Principal race and quickly became one of the feature events on the Australian calendar. Although it always drew a strong field the Doncaster Mile finally gained its Group 1 status in 1980.

2016 Doncaster Mile Results

  • 1st – Winx
  • 2nd – Happy Clapper
  • 3rd – Azkadellia

The Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) is generally considered the major lead-up race to the Doncaster Mile, but the race generally draws horses from a variety of different races during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. In recent years, Doncaster Mile winners have had their final lead-up runs in races like the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m), Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m), Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m) and Group 2 Hobarvtille Stakes (1200m).

The George Ryder Stakes/Doncaster Mile remains a popular betting double throughout the autumn carnival and in recent times Racing To Win (2006), Haradasun (2007) and Vision And Power (2009) have all won both Group 1 events in the same year.

The Doncaster Mile has been won by some great horses throughout its history, but the Group 1 event has proven very tough to win on multiple occasions. Champion mare Sunline (1998 and 2002) was the last horse to win the race twice, while Pharaoh (1994 and 1995), Super Impose (1990 and 1991), Tudor Hill (1959 and 1960), Slogan II (1956 and 1957), Blue Legend (1946 and 1947) and Mildura (1940 and 1941) are the only horses to have won the race in back-to-back years.

The Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) is the Doncaster Mile’s spring racing equivalent, with only one horse, Super Impose (1990-91), managing to snare victory in both races on two occasions.

Doncaster Mile Field

The Doncaster Mile field is always packed with quality and is most years the race is run with a capacity field of twenty runners. It can be very difficult for horses to earn a start in the Doncaster Mile, so races like the Group 2 Ajax Stakes (1500m) and Group 3 Doncaster Prelude (1600m) that offer ballot exempt entries to lower level horses are always extremely hotly contested. The increase in prizemoney to an amazing $3 million means that positions in the Doncaster Mile field are more sought after than ever and the 2014 edition of the race is set to feature an international presence with Irish Group 1 winner Gordon Lord Byron and Japanese mare Hana’s Gold both on track to contest the Group 1 event.

2016 Doncaster Mile Field

The 2016 Doncaster Mile field will be officially released a few days before the race and should feature some of the best middle-distances horses from right around Australia.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1x52140x32 KERMADEC (NZ) Chris Waller Zac Purton 3 57kg 113
2 x62111x416 TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) Murray Baker Opie Bosson 9 57kg 113
3 11x111x111 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 11 56.5kg 116
4 731310×723 STRATUM STAR Darren Weir Mark Zahra 2 55kg 109
5 6x6x20x018 BOW CREEK (IRE) John O’Shea James McDonald 4 54.5kg 108
6 x21226x124 FIRST SEAL John P Thompson Tommy Berry 1 53kg 109
7 x70590x611 VOLKSTOK’N’BARRELL (NZ) Donna Logan & Chris Gibbs 10 52.5kg 104
8 x123121x37 GOOD PROJECT Chris Waller Craig Newitt 7 52kg 103
9 4x24269x67 ECUADOR (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Tim Clark 14 52kg 103
10 1x5x111x45 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 8 50.5kg 100
11 x12123x212 AZKADELLIA (NZ) Ciaron Maher Glen Boss 12 50kg 100
12 x52415x201 HE OR SHE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Patrick Moloney 13 50kg 96
13 3320099×63 RUDY Helen Page 15 50kg 99
14 x5797x60x5 AOMEN (IRE) Anthony Cummings 5 50kg 98
15 15460×4491 VERGARA Anthony Cummings 6 50kg 93

2016 Doncaster Mile Nominations & Weights

The 2016 Doncaster Mile nominations are published here.

Doncaster Mile Winners & Results

Below is the table of Doncaster Mile winners and results since 2000.

Year Results Winning Time
2017 1 TBD 2 TBD 3 TBD  TBD
2016 1 Winx 2 Happy Clapper 3 Azkadellia  1:35.2
2015 1 Kermadec 2 Real Impact 3 Royal Descent  1:37.6
2014 1 Sacred Falls 2 Royal Descent 3 Weary  1:39.6
2013 1 Sacred Falls 2 Pierro 3 Norzita  1:37.9
2012 1 More Joyous 2 Shoot Out 3 Yosei  1:35.5
2011 1 Sacred Choice 2 Love Conquers All 3 Bold Glance  1:39.4
2010 1 Rangirangdoo 2 Road To Rock 3 Brilliant Light  1:34.2
2009 1 Vision and Power 2 Black Piranha 3 Whobegotyou  1:36.6
2008 1 Triple Honour 2 Casino Prince 3 Pinnacles  1:38.6
2007 1 Haradasun 2 Mentality 3 Divine Madonna  1:38.0
2006 1 Racing To Win 2 Johna’s Toy 3 Bentley Biscuit  1:34.1
2005 1 Patezza 2 Court’s In Session 3 Danni Martine  1:35.9
2004 1 Private Steer 2 Grand Armee 3 Ambulance  1:35.5
2003 1 Grand Armee 2 Dash For Cash 3 Boreale  1:36.8
2002 1 Sunline 2 Shogun Lodge 3 Defier  1:35.2
2001 1 Assertive Lad 2 Shogun Lodge 3 Weasel Will  1:35.9
2000 1 Over 2 Sunline 3 Zastov  1:35.0